Territory Stories

Tribute to Northern Territory Women



Tribute to Northern Territory Women


Martin, Clare (Clare Majella)

Political affiliation

Australian Labor Party


Media Releases for 09th Assembly 2001 - 2005; Media Releases; ParliamentNT




Made available by via the Publications (Legal Deposit) Act 2004 (NT).



Publisher name

Northern Territory Government

File type



Issued as a Media Release

Copyright owner

Northern Territory Government

Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

| Search | Contacts | eServices | Feedback | Interpreter Services | Home 17 October 2003 Tribute to Northern Territory Women Media Releases Media Release Archive Speeches This page is maintained by the Office of the Chief Minister Chief Minister and Minister for Womens Policy, Clare Martin, today launched the 2004 Tribute to Territory Women, saying that the search for this years nominations was officially underway. The Tribute to Northern Territory Women was launched in Darwin for International Womens Day in March 2002. The Tribute - which is held annually - is a program to honour and acknowledge the substantial contribution that Women have made, and are making, to the economic, social and cultural development of the Territory. In 2003, the inaugural year of the program, 12 women were recipients of the Tribute. They were: Barbara James, Lily Ah Toy, Dawn Lawrie, Phoebe Farrar, Natalie Harwood, Eileen Fitzer, Cynthia Molina, Mayse Young, Eileen Cummings, Christina Black, Phoebe Doreen Lee and Jose Petrick. "These women have been truly inspirational - not only to those directly affected by their strength and spirit, but to those of us who have seen, heard about, or been influenced by their achievements." Ms Martin said. "Today I am launching the 2004 Tribute and calling on Territorians to nominate more great Territory women to be recognised for their contribution." The names of these selected Territory women, together with future recipients will be displayed on a special walk, currently being constructed in Darwins Damoe-Ra Park near Parliament House, and in a limited edition poster series. "A set of bronze plaques with the names and images of these women will also be displayed at the National Pioneer Womens Hall of Fame in Alice Springs. "The Tribute is an excellent opportunity for Territorians to celebrate and remember the women who have made a difference - I urge people to nominate someone special and have their contribution recognised and remembered." Nomination forms and information can be obtained by contacting the Office of Womens Policy. Nominations close on the 30th November 2003. to the top Disclaimer/privacy/copyright statement | Email the web manager | Sitemap Copyright 2003 Northern Territory Government of Australia | Ph: +61 8 8999 5511

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.