Territory Stories

Northern Territory literary awards 2018 : Works by Winners & Finalists



Northern Territory literary awards 2018 : Works by Winners & Finalists

Other title

NT literary awards


Northern Territory Literary Awards; E-Journals; PublicationNT; Northern Territory Literary Awards; NT Literary Awards




Established in the early 1980s by Darwin Community College, as a predecessor of Charles Darwin University, and now administered by the Library & Archives NT, the Northern Territory Literary Awards celebrate the richness of our literary talent across the Northern Territory.


Made available via the Publications (Legal Deposit) Act 2004 (NT).; Sponsors and Supporters : Charles Darwin University; Northern Territory Writers' Centre; ZipPrint; Browns Mart Theatre; Kath Mazie Estate

Table of contents

Zip Print Short Story Award -- Winner: The Virgin Mary and Katrina Sparks / Mhairi Duncan ; Finalists: Some problems I am having / Johanna Bell ; Inseparable / Edgar Keighley ; EDGE / Dina Davis ; NT Writers' Centre Poetry Award -- Winner: What to do with the foam in my mouth / Johanna Bell ; Finalists: There'll Be A Payphone At The Roadhouse / Parker Black ; Melancholy Portrait / Brian Obiri-Asare ; Stone country / Susan Fielding ; Charles Darwin University Creative Non-Fiction Award -- Winner: OF EYES, ASTRONAUTS AND ANTS / Lola Stewart ; Finalists: We Never Had Any Proper Food / Kaye Aldenhoven ; Chess / James Murray ; Missing out on being a Catholic / Kaye Aldenhoven ; Karen / Worthington Smelling ; Charles Dawin University Essay Award -- Winner: 'Unviable' languages? Colonisation, assimilation, and bilingual education in the Northern Territory / Amy Claire Thomas ; Kath Manzie Youth Award -- Winner: Vanilla / Ellaby Kenneth ; Finalists: From my Culture and Ancestors / Esra Angeles ; We Can Still / Holly Van't Sand ; I belong / Janaya Kopp ; Flash Fiction Award -- Winner: Virginia Woolf would be proud / Johanna Bell ; Finalists: Chaos / Ashleigh Ascoli ; A Fishbone in the Throat / Betty Lum ; Gods Nectar / Georgia Manuela Delgado ; Don Juan Quandary / David Quan ; Fortunate Dragon / Shona Ford ; Matthew / Worthington Smelling ; Big Foot Marcus / Trish Higgins ; Brown's Mart Theatre Award -- Winner: Cusp / Mary Anne Butler ; Finalist: A Smoke Social / Sandra Thibodeaux ; Due to printing restrictions scripts and screenplays cannot be included in this publication




Literary prizes -- Northern Territory -- Periodicals; Poetry, Australian -- 21st Century -- Periodicals; Short Stories, Australian -- Northern Territory -- 21st Century -- Periodicals

Publisher name

Northern Territory Government

Place of publication



Northern Territory Literary Awards; NT Literary Awards


117 pages ; 30 cm.

File type






Copyright owner

Copyright of individual works remain with the authors



Related links

http://hdl.handle.net/10070/300850 [2018 Northern Territory Literary Awards Ceremony]

Parent handle


Citation address


Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.