Territory Stories

Annual Report 2014/2015 Office of the Commissioner for Public Employment



Annual Report 2014/2015 Office of the Commissioner for Public Employment

Other title

Tabled paper 1613


Tabled papers for 12th Assembly 2012 - 2016; Tabled papers; ParliamentNT






Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

Publisher name

Office of the Commissioner for Public Employment

File type




Copyright owner

See publication



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

EMPLOYMENT SERVICES OUTPUT GROUP agencies attracting and retaining staff with disabilities. Disability Employment Program The NTPS DEP offers employment to people with disability as a pathway to ongoing employment. DEP is an initiative under EmployAbility - a Strategy for People with Disability 2013-2017 and aims to provide job opportunities in the NTPS for people with disability who experience severe workplace restrictions and are unable to compete for jobs on merit. During the reporting period, a significant review of the governing policy took place in an effort to streamline the program, both for agencies and participants, and increase the focus on development of participants. Currently, there are 11 employees working under the DEP. Reward and Recognition 2014 Chief Ministers Public Sector Medals The Chief Ministers Public Sector Medals are awarded annually as part of the Chief Ministers Awards for Excellence in the Public Sector ceremony as a way of recognising and rewarding the outstanding and commendable public service of individuals. All public sector employees are eligible for the Medal including office administrators and front line staff dealing directly with the public. Up to ten Medals are awarded each year. Nine employees received the prestigious medal at the 2014 ceremony: Kathy Currie Department of Health Stuart Dwyer Department of Education Dr Samuel Goodwin Department of Health Sharon Hayes Department of Correctional Services Graeme Kevern Department of Business Julie Nicholson Department of the Chief Minister Carmelita Sceney Department of Education Eucharia Tipungwuti Department of Education Glenda Thornton Department of Transport Public Service Medal (Australia Day Honours) The NTG contributes annually to the official Australian system of honours. As part of this, the Public Service Medal acknowledges outstanding service by employees of the Australian, Northern Territory and Local Governments. Each year, up to two medals are allocated to the NTPS, and are to be awarded at the Australia Day celebrations on 26 January. The two recipients of the distinguished Public Service Medal in 2014 were: John Coleman was nominated for his 32 years of service in the NTG. During this time, Johns many achievements included the development of the first electronically produced lease documents in the Northern Territory, establishing the first Regional Office for the Department of Lands and Planning in Katherine, and planning tenure arrangements for the Wickham Point Conoco Phillips Gas Plant and the Vopak (Darwin Industry Fuel Terminal) at East Arm. Ernie Wanka was nominated for his outstanding service to the public in his long serving role as Executive Director for the Transport Infrastructure Planning Division as an infrastructure executive, engineer, project manager and strategic planner. As a visionary who has both literally and metaphorically built the Northern Territory into a modern, dynamic region, Ernie Wanka dealt with strategic policy and major projects across Government, industry and the community within his recent role as Government Chief Engineer. OCPE ANNUAL REPORT 20141532

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.