Territory Stories

Annual Report 1994/1995 Department of the Chief Minister



Annual Report 1994/1995 Department of the Chief Minister

Other title

Tabled Paper 2031


Tabled Papers for 7th Assembly 1994 - 1997; Tabled papers; ParliamentNT




Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

File type




Copyright owner

See publication



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

I ANNUAL REPORT 1994-95 The Office provided advice to assist in the drafting of a new Electoral Bill. The new legislation is aimed at streamlining the electoral process. An example of this is a new system of pre-election day voting. Enrolment provisions have been simplified by achieving commonality with those in the current Commonwealth Act The Bill was tabled in Parliament on 25 May 1995. The Chief Electoral Officer was an official observer at the South Australian and New South Wales State elections conducted during the year. This provided the opportunity to observe other electoral administrations at peak activity times and to benchmark some of our own electoral processes. Planning has commenced for the forthcoming Local Government General Election to be held on 25 May 1996, with budget forecasts to be presented to Municipal Councils in July 1995. Mr Barrie W Hamilton assumed the position of Chief Electoral Officer from 31 March 1995 with the transfer of Mr David Rice to the position of General Manager of the Territory Wildlife Park. Mr Rice made a valuable contribution while he held the position of Chief Electoral Officer. PROGRAMS AND PERFORMANCE Plan and conduct impartial and cost-effective elections. Elections were held on behalf of: Legislative Assembly Fannie Bay By-Election Local Government Nil Community Government Schemes Ltyentye Purte (Santa Teresa) Belyuen By-Election Watiyawanu (Mount Liebig) Nyirripi Pirlangimpi Community Elliott and District Council By-Election Milikapiti Community Nauiyu Nambiyu Community Anmatjere Community Cox Peninsular Community Organisations/Associations Mango Development Fund Crafts Council of the Northern Territory Bagot Community Ramingining Community Department of the Chief Minister 39

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.