Territory Stories

Annual Report 1994/1995 Department of the Chief Minister



Annual Report 1994/1995 Department of the Chief Minister

Other title

Tabled Paper 2031


Tabled Papers for 7th Assembly 1994 - 1997; Tabled papers; ParliamentNT




Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

File type




Copyright owner

See publication



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

i ANNUAL REPORT 1994-95 SECRETARYS REVIEW The 1994-95 year has been a significant one for the Department and for the Northern Territory generally. Most significant were the opening of the new Parliament House in August 1994 and the subsequent meeting of the Council of Australian Governments in Darwin. The Territory remains committed to the aim of achieving Statehood. The past year has seen substantial progress towards that aim. Issues have continued to arise throughout the year as a result of the Commonwealths Native Title legislation. Of particular concern is the uncertainty which remains because the legislation fails to clearly provide for the extinguishing of native title in the case of pastoral leases. APPOINTMENT OF THE NEW CHIEF MINISTER After almost seven years as Chief Minister of the Northern Territory, Mr Perron resigned from the Parliament to pursue his private interests. The Honourable Shane L Stone MLA was appointed as Chief Minister on 26 May 1995 following the resignation of the Honourable Marshall B Perron MLA. In addition to the new portfolio, the Chief Minister retained his existing portfolios of Minister for Asian Relations and Trade, Minister for Industries and Development, Minister for Ethnic Affairs and Minister for the Arts until 30 June 1995, after which time the second Stone Ministry came into effect There were no other portfolio and departmental changes in the past year. COORDINATION COMMITTEE The Coordination Committee is a forum of Chief Executive Officers. The full Coordination Committee met five times during the year. The Executive of the Coordination Committee met on nine occasions. Although during the year Mr P C W Tyrrell was appointed Chief Executive Officer of the Department of Transport and Works and Mr C J Fuller was appointed Chief Executive Officer of the Conservation Commission, each retained his Chairmanship of the Standing Sub-Committees on Social Development and Public Safety, and Infrastructure and Development respectively. Department of the Chief Minister 5

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.