Territory Stories

Annual Report 2003/2004 Menzies School of Health Research



Annual Report 2003/2004 Menzies School of Health Research

Other title

Tabled paper 1523


Tabled Papers for 9th Assembly 2001 - 2005; Tabled papers for 9th Assembly 2001 - 2005; Tabled Papers; ParliamentNT






Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

File type




Copyright owner

See publication



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

Menzies School of Health Research 2003 Annual Report | Governance | 25 governance enzies School of Health Research was established as a cooperative endeavour between the Menzies Foundation, Northern Territory Government and the University of Sydney. In November 1985 the Northern Territory Parliament passed the Menzies School of Health Research Act. This legislation established the School as an independent body corporate, under the control of a governing board. In accordance with the Act, MSHR accounts are subject to audit by the Auditor General of the Northern Territory. MSHR also reports to the Northern Territory Legislative Assembly through the Minister for Health and Community Services and to an Annual General Meeting of the School. As already noted, the Act was amended in 2003 to reflect formal links with Charles Darwin University, as a controlled entity. Governing Board Richard Ryan AO Chair (Nominee of the Governing Board) Mr Ryan is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia, and a Companion of the Institution of Engineers, Australia. He is Chancellor of Charles Darwin University, Chairman of the Northern Territory Tourist Commission Board and a Director of a number of public companies. Simon Maddocks BAgSc(Hons) PhD MAIAST Deputy Chair (Nominee of the Menzies Foundation) Professor Maddocks is the South Australian Chief Scientist, SARDI Livestock Systems, Roseworthy Campus, University of Adelaide. His research interests are in reproductive immunology and cell biology. Professor Maddocks is a Director of the Board of the Sir Robert Menzies Memorial Foundation, and is the Deputy Chief Executive Officer of the Cooperative Research Centre for Pest Animal Control and a member of its board. Peter Plummer BSc GDipMgt GAICD Treasurer (Nominee of the NT Minister for Health & Community Services ) Mr Plummer was appointed Chief Executive Officer of the Northern Territory Department of Education, Employment and Training in May 2000. Prior to that Peter was CEO of Territory Health Services for three and a half years. He was previously CEO of NT Mines and Energy after having held senior executive positions in two other economic development departments in the NT. Before coming to the NT he lived and worked in Papua New Guinea for 16 years in the secondary and tertiary education sectors. Robert Griew (Nominee of the NT Minister for Health & Community Services, from February 2003) Mr Griew is Chief Executive Officer of the Northern Territory Department of Health and Community Services and was previously Deputy Director General of the NSW Department of Ageing, Disability and Home Care. His public service background spans both health and community services from childrens services, disability and aged care to public health and Aboriginal health. He has worked extensively in the Commonwealth Departments of Community Services and Health. Andrew Coats MADM (Oxon.) MBBChir (Cantab.) FRACP FRCP FESC FACC FAHA MBA (Nominee of University of Sydney from March 2003) Professor Coats is currently the Dean of Medicine at the University of Sydney. He is also Chair of the NSW Ministerial Advisory Council on Medical and Health Research and Chair of the Australian Health Information Council. His most recent previous appointments are Director of Cardiology at Royal Brompton Hospital, London, and Viscount Royston Professor of Clinical Cardiology at the National Heart and Lung Institute, Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine, London. Professor Coats was a member of the M