Territory Stories

Annual Report 2003/2004 Menzies School of Health Research



Annual Report 2003/2004 Menzies School of Health Research

Other title

Tabled paper 1523


Tabled Papers for 9th Assembly 2001 - 2005; Tabled papers for 9th Assembly 2001 - 2005; Tabled papers; ParliamentNT






Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

File type




Copyright owner

See publication



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

26 | Governance | Menzies School of Health Research 2003 Annual Report Council, British Society of Heart Failure, member of the Cardiology Training Committee, North Thames (West), and part of the Medical Subcommittee of the Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy Association. L Valerie Asche AM MSc PhD FASM MAIBiol CBiol (Nominee of the Governing Board) Dr Asche, a microbiologist, has been a university academic, an industrial consultant and head of a diagnostic unit. In the Northern Territory she was Head of the Microbiology Unit at the Menzies School of Health Research from 198694, a consultant for the Northern Territory Department of Health and Community Services, and is at present editor of Recent Advances in Microbiology. She is also a Board Member of the National Heart Foundation, member of the Darwin Region Institutional Biosafety Committee, Commissioner of Legal Aid, member of the Council of the Ageing, President of ASEA-Rehab, and President of CWA NT. She was previously Chair of the Taskforce into Illicit Drugs in the NT. Ros Anne Moriarty (Nominee of the Governing Board) Ms Moriarty is Managing Director of The Jumbana Group, an Indigenous design and brand strategy consultancy. Previous career positions include research and administrative posts with the Department of Aboriginal Affairs, The Overseas Service Bureau and Radio Australia. She has held Board positions with the National Gallery of Australia, the Australian Academy of Design and Australian Major Events. Bruce Armstrong AM, FAA, B Med Sc (Hons), MB BS (Hons), DPhil (Oxon), FRACP, FAFPHM (Ex-officio, Nominee of the Vice Chancellor of University of Sydney) Professor Armstong is Associate Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Head of the School of Public Health, and a Medical Foundation Fellow at The University of Sydney. He graduated in biochemistry and medicine from the University of Western Australia, trained as a physician at the Royal Perth Hospital and as an epidemiologist with Sir Richard Doll at the University of Oxford. Bruce Armstrong has variously been Professor of Epidemiology and Cancer Research at the University of Western Australia, Commissioner of Health for Western Australia, Deputy Director of the International Agency for Research on Cancer, Director of the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, and Director of Cancer Research and Registers at The Cancer Council NSW. Ron McKay BSc PhD GDIPCOMP GDIPBUS FAIM (Nominee of the NT Minister for Education) Professor McKay was Vice-Chancellor of the Northern Territory University from 19962002, following a six-year term as Deputy Vice-Chancellor. Kerin ODea BSc PhD (ex-officio, Director of Menzies School of Health Research) Professor ODea is the Director of the Menzies School of Health Research and holds the Chair of Robert Menzies Professor at the University of Sydney. She also has appointments as Honorary Professor at the University of Melbourne, the University of Queensland, Monash University, and Flinders University. She graduated initially in biochemistry and pharmacology (University of Melbourne). Her current research on lifestyle-related chronic diseases (diabetes, obesity, cardiovascular disease and renal disease) extends from the laboratory to the population, and has a strong emphasis on early intervention. At the national level, she is a member of numerous committees, including the Council of the National Health and Medical Research Council, Food Standards Australia and New Zealand Board, the Diabetes Research Consultative Committee, the National Diabetes Strategy Group, CSIRO Health Sector Advisory Council, and the Consultative Committee for the National Centre for Epidemiology and Population Health at the Australian National University. Observers on the Board SECRETARY TO THE BOARD Mr Keith White (from Nov 2003) Mr David Morgan (until Nov 2003) CRCAH DIRECTOR Prof Tony Barnes STAFF REPRESENTATIVE Dr Peter Fagan