Territory Stories

Annual Report 2003/2004 Menzies School of Health Research



Annual Report 2003/2004 Menzies School of Health Research

Other title

Tabled paper 1523


Tabled Papers for 9th Assembly 2001 - 2005; Tabled papers for 9th Assembly 2001 - 2005; Tabled papers; ParliamentNT






Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

File type




Copyright owner

See publication



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

Menzies School of Health Research 2003 Annual Report | Governance | 27 Finance Committee Mrs Jane Large (Chair) Mrs Sue Bradley Mr Peter Plummer Mr Brian Slatter Mr Richard Ryan AO Prof Kerin ODea Mr David Morgan (Secretary until Sept 2003) Mr Keith White (Secretary from Nov 2003) Audit Committee Mrs Sue Bradley (Chair) Mr Richard Ryan AO Prof Kerin ODea Mr Peter Plummer Mr Brian Slatter Mr David Morgan (Secretary until Sept 2003) Mr Keith White (Secretary from Nov 2003) Darwin Region Institutional Biosafety Committee Mrs Susan Hutton (Chair) Dr Valerie Asche Asoc Prof Karen Gibb Mr Lodi Hoeben Dr Gary Lum Dr Lorna Melville Dr Anna Padovan Ms Claire Streten (proxy for Karen Gibb) Ms Pamela Trotman Dr Shelley Walton Miss Gabrielle Falls (Secretary) Human Research Ethics Committee of DHCS and MSHR Ms Jill Huck (Chair) Ms Jenny Abdilla Assoc Prof Nick Anstey Prof David Brewster Ms Robyn Cooke Mr Ian Hillock Dr Murray Seiffert Mr Peter Thomsen Ms Denise Walsh Dr Shelley Walton Mr Bob Whitehead Miss Gabrielle Falls (Secretary) Mr Jack McTaggart (until June 2003) Ms Brydget Barker Hudson (until Aug 2003) Rev Richard Wallace (until Dec 2003) Aboriginal Ethics Subcommittee Mr Peter Thomsen (Chair) Mrs Norma Benger Mrs Terry Dunbar Dr Sandra Eades (from Nov 2003) Mr Shane Houston (from Oct 2003) Mr Shane Motlap (from Sept 2003) Ms Joanne Garnggulkpuy Dr Michael Lowe Ms Sandy Kitching (until April 2003) Ms Allison Chamberlain (until April 2003) MSHR honorary appointments Name Years Dates Details Level Bastian, Dr Ivan 3 1/12/20021/11/2005 IMVS facilities and expertise in research projects in East SRF Timor and Indonesia Cass, Dr Alan 3 5/12/20034/12/2006 Research into renal disease in Indigenous populations SRF dAbbs, Dr Peter 3 1/03/20021/02/2005 Collaboration on substance abuse SRF Daniel, Assoc Prof Mark 3 1/01/20021/12/2004 Collaborative links on community-based diabetes project SRF Hoy, Prof Wendy 3 5/09/20031/08/2006 Renal disease and Indigenous populations Prof Fellow Lumb, Mr Richard 3 1/12/20021/11/2005 Mycobacteriology at IMVS and IMVS Laboratories for RF Research in East Timor Maguire, Dr Graeme 3 1/12/20021/11/2005 Continuing collaboration RF Price, Dr Ric 3 1/06/20021/05/2005 Tropical infectious diseases SRF Sayers, Dr Sue 3 1/10/20011/09/2004 Aboriginal birth cohort study SRF Sriprakash, Dr KS 3 1/06/20011/05/2004 Streptococcal vaccine SRF Tjitra, Dr Emiliana 3 1/03/20021/02/2005 Strengthen ties with Indondesia on infectious diseases SRF Wang, Dr Zhiqiang 3 1/02/20031/01/2006 Collaborative research on epidemiology SRF Weeramanthri, Dr Tarun 3 1/12/20021/11/2005 Preventable chronic diseases program in the NT SRF White, Dr Neville 3 1/10/20011/09/2004 Research Yolngu people of East Arnhem Land SRF Yonovitz, Dr Al 3 1/03/20011/02/2004 Audiology RF Official Patron His Honour Mr John Anictomatis AO, Administrator of the Northern Territory Patrons NORTHERN TERRITORY The Hon Austin Asche AC QC Mr Djerrkura OAM* QUEENSLAND Mr Ron Archer AM VICTORIA Sir Gustav Nossal AC CBE Mr Charles Goode SOUTH AUSTRALIA The Hon John Dawkins Prof Lowitja ODonoghue CBE AM Mr William Scammell CBE TASMANIA Dr John Hargrave AO MBE MSHR Medallion Recipients Dr Valerie Asche Miss Margaret Brewster Father Frank Flynn MSC AC* Mr Harry Giese AM MBE* Prof Richard Gye AO Dr John Hargrave AO MBE Prof David Kemp FAA Prof John Mathews AM Mr Ray Norman AM Dr KS Sriprakash Life Members Dr Keith Fleming Dr Ella Stack CBE *Deceased Board committees The Governing Board was assisted by the following committees: Patrons & members