Territory Stories

Annual Report 2005-2006 Professional Standards Council Northern Territory



Annual Report 2005-2006 Professional Standards Council Northern Territory

Other title

Tabled paper 765


Tabled papers for 10th Assembly 2005 - 2008; Tabled papers; ParliamentNT






Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

File type




Copyright owner

See publication



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

Contributing to law reform to improve professional standards and consumer protection by: Participating in officers groups responsible for the national implementation of professional standards legislation to identify and recommend necessary legislative amendments History and Profile The Professional Standards Act 2004 (NT) (the Act) was enacted in 2004. It commenced operation on 1 January 2006. The legislation is the administrative responsibility of the Hon Syd Stirling, Minister for Justice and Attorney-General. The Professional Standards Council is an independent statutory body established and administered under the Act that approves and monitors professional standards schemes that aim to improve professional standards, protect consumers and limit the civil liability of professional and other occupational groups. The Northern Territory Council is one of eight Councils established around Australia following the enactment of professional standards legislation in New South Wales and Western Australia during the 1990s. The Commonwealth has also enacted legislation which will allow occupational liability to be limited under federal legislation such as the Trade Practices Act 1974 (Cth) and the Australian Securities and Investment Commission Act 2001 (Cth). All jurisdictions have entered into an intergovernmental agreement whereby all eight Councils will comprise the same 11 members. Each State and Territory and the Commonwealth will nominate one member, and NSW and Victoria will nominate two. As at 30 June 2006, the membership of the Northern Territory Council was as follows: Name and position Nominating Jurisdiction Start End Meetings entitled to attend Meetings attended Rayment, Brian Wade, Chairperson NSW 1.1.06 31.12.08 4 4 Alter, Esther Vic 1.1.06 30.06.08 4 2 Beaton, Robert NSW 1.1.06 30.6.08 4 4 Metcalfe, Joanne Elizabeth ACT 1.1.06 30.06.08 4 4 Milliner, Glen Richard Qld 1.1.06 30.6.08 4 4 Summers, lain NT 1.1.06 31.12.08 4 3 4