Territory Stories

Annual Report 2005-2006 Professional Standards Council Northern Territory



Annual Report 2005-2006 Professional Standards Council Northern Territory

Other title

Tabled paper 765


Tabled papers for 10th Assembly 2005 - 2008; Tabled papers; ParliamentNT






Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

File type




Copyright owner

See publication



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

During the past eighteen months there have been significant changes to the composition of the Councils, with the staggered appointment of new members nominated by other jurisdictions. The current Chairman since February 2005, Brian Rayment QC, has presided over the changes. It is the intention of all jurisdictions that the Councils will be self-funding from application and annual fees. As an interim measure, all jurisdictions which do not currently generate income from application and annual fees have loaned seed funding which will be repayable from future Council fee revenue. The amount to be provided by the Northern Territory will be $13,000. The NSW Attorney Generals Department has provided secretariat support to the Council, and will provide secretariat support to all eight Councils, to be formalised in a Service Agreement. Organisational Structure and Remuneration Council Members are appointed for up to three years and they are eligible for re-appointment at the expiration of their term. The New South Wales Attorney General determines the remuneration of Council Members. The allowance consists of a sitting fee for attendance at Council and Committee meetings. The remuneration of Council Members is $361 for meetings up to four hours and $75 for each hour thereafter. The Chairperson is paid $593 and $125 respectively. The Chairperson is also paid a retainer of $2,575 per annum, which includes expenses for Council related work. Membership Brian Rayment QC BA, LLB Chairman Brian Rayment was admitted to the Bar in 1970 and practices throughout Australia, specialising in insurance, transport law and general commercial law. From 1972 to 1974 he also lectured in law (part-time) at the University of Sydney. Brian has also served as a member and Honorary Treasurer of the NSW Bar Council, Chairman of the Legal Aid Commission of NSW and a Member of the NSW Legal Services Tribunal. Esther Alter BEc LLB, MBA, MAICD Esther Alter brings a wide range of experience in consumer law and dispute resolution to the Council. As a Member of the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal (VCAT), she was involved in conciliating and adjudicating on consumer law matters. Esther has worked in a range of consumer, legal and management roles in Victorian and Commonwealth government. Her professional interests are in the areas of governance, management, service evaluation and organisational development. Ms Alter is a Board Member of the Chiropractor Registration Board of Victoria and a Board Member of the Osteopaths Registration Board of Victoria. 5