Territory Stories

Debates Day 1 - Tuesday 23 May 1995



Debates Day 1 - Tuesday 23 May 1995

Other title

Parliamentary Record 11


Debates for 7th Assembly 1994 - 1997; ParliamentNT; Parliamentary Record; 7th Assembly 1994 - 1997




Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory





Publisher name

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory

Place of publication


File type



Attribution International 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)

Copyright owner

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

DEBATES - Tuesday 23 May 1995 The level of service being provided requires a tremendous effort on the part of administrators and the hundreds of volunteers who work to raise funds for the many Red Cross projects. The unsung heroes are the volunteers across the Territory who work tirelessly and without complaint. In recent years, it has been customary to involve His Honour the Administrator as the president of the society, and the present Administrator, the Hon Austin Asche, is the President of the Northern Territory Division. On this 80th anniversary of Red Cross, let me offer my personal congratulations to those who serve their fellows with such energy, dignity and dedication. Indeed, I recall seeing in the newspaper recently a photograph of Mrs Arthur standing at the gates of the Administrators residence, with the byline: It was her gift to the Territory; 50 years of service. That someone should commit 50 years of their life to an organisation like Red Cross demonstrates that these truly are the unsung heroes and heroines of the community in which we live. Mr Deputy Speaker, I seek leave to have incorporated in Hansard the names of those currently on the Board of the Northern Territory Division of Australian Red Cross. Leave granted. NORTHERN TERRITORY DIVISION AUSTRALIAN RED CROSS DIVISIONAL COUNCIL 1995 His Honour the Honourable Austin Asche, AC QC, President Mrs P. Bremner, Chairman Asst Comm W. Wilson APM, Deputy Chairman Dr J. Hills, Vice Chairman Mrs W. Snodgrass OAM, Vice Chairman Mr K. Ambrose-Pearce Mrs E. Appleby Ms M. Carstensen Mrs E. Mildren Mr J. Moore Mr D. Patel Mr J. Pinney, National Vice Chairman Mr E. Quong OAM MrJ. Tsoukalis Dr A. Walker AM Dr B. Way Mr M. Barrett, Executive Director Mr Deputy Speaker, I was pleased to be invited to the Pride of Workmanship Awards presentation dinner conducted by the Rotary Club of Darwin North on 20 March. The Pride of Workmanship Awards scheme originated in Australia in 1976 as a project of the Rotary Club of Pennant Hills in New South Wales, and has since won international recognition. To a Rotarian, pride of workmanship is important as it is a part of vocational service which is the Rotarians personal application of ethical practices in their trade or profession, and their honest and genuine desire to improve these practices wherever possible. The awards were first 3600