Territory Stories

Debates Day 1 - Tuesday 14 May 1996



Debates Day 1 - Tuesday 14 May 1996

Other title

Parliamentary Record 21


Debates for 7th Assembly 1994 - 1997; ParliamentNT; Parliamentary Record; 7th Assembly 1994 - 1997




Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory





Publisher name

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory

Place of publication


File type



Attribution International 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)

Copyright owner

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

DEBATES - Tuesday 14 May 1996 (2) the member for Sanderson's failure to disclose the financial benefits referred to in paragraphs (6) and (8) above is a further breach o f section 10 of the Legislative Assembly (Register o f Members Interests) Act 1982; and (3) this matter should be referred to the Privileges Committee as a matter o f urgency. To pick up that point in speaking to the motion, I would have expected that a matter going so centrally to the operation of an act of this parliament would have been dealt with a little more expeditiously. I am not particularly happy, Mr Speaker, but you sat there yourself without informing us for 1 Vi days that you had decided presumably not to make a decision on this matter in the last 2 days of the sittings. By yourself, the Leader of Government Business and the government, I do not believe that the operation of the Legislative Assembly (Register of Members Interests) Act, and the checks and balances it is supposed to incorporate, have been dealt with appropriately. They will not be dealt with appropriately in a debate of this sort because the government will say simply that it will not refer this matter: 16 to 8 wins every time. Mr Speaker, it should be a matter of serious concern to you, as it will be a matter of serious concern to Territorians and any observers of the way self-government works in the Northern Territory, that this motion will simply be lost on the voices. The Leader of Government Business is about to move that the motion be put. It is finished. Mr COULTER (Leader of Government Business): Mr Speaker, I move that the motion be put. The Assembly divided: Ayes 15 Mr Baldwin Mrs Braham Mr Burke Mr Coulter Mr Finch Mr Hatton Mr McCarthy Mr Manzie Mr Mitchell Mrs Padgham-Purich Mr Palmer Mr Poole Mr Reed Mr Setter Mr Stone Motion agreed to. Mr SPEAKER: The question now is that the motion be agreed to. Noes 7 Mr Bailey Mr Bell Mr Ede Mrs Hickey Ms Martin Mr Rioli Mr Stirling 7065

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.