Territory Stories

Annual Report 2009-2010 Utilities Commission



Annual Report 2009-2010 Utilities Commission

Other title

Tabled paper 1065


Tabled Papers for 11th Assembly 2008 - 2012; Tabled Papers; ParliamentNT




Deemed paper


Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

File type




Copyright owner

See publication



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

14 September 2010 3.12 Independent Power Producer (IPP) licences were held by the following producers who do not participate fully in the electricity supply industry and instead generate electricity under contract for another generator: NGD (NT) Pty Ltd (Pine Creek power station, Pine Creek); Cosmo Power Pty Ltd (Pine Creek power station, Pine Creek); Central Energy Power Pty Ltd (Brewer Estate power station, Alice Springs); Energy Resources of Australia Ltd (Ranger power station, Jabiru); and Landfill Management Services Pty Ltd (Shoal Bay power station, Darwin). 3.13 An isolated system licence was held by: Groote Eylandt Mining Company Pty Ltd. 3.14 On 30 June 2010, the following exemptions were current: an exemption from the requirement for Alcan Gove Pty Ltd to hold a licence with respect to its electricity operations in the township of Nhulunbuy; and an exemption from the requirement for installations defined as small scale renewable energy operations from the need to hold a licence. PWC Retail licence 3.15 In February 2010, the Commission advised PWC that it proposed to vary PWCs Retail Electricity Licence (Contestable Customers and Non-Contestable Customers) in light of the commencement of full retail contestability from 1 April 2010. 3.16 On 2 March 2010, the Commission varied the Retail Electricity Licence (Contestable Customers and Non-Contestable Customers) issued to PWC to: defer until market circumstances make advice relevant, the obligation for PWC to notify existing customers using 750 megawatt hours (MWh) or less of electricity per year (those previously defined as non-contestable customers) that they are to be contestable from 1 April 2010; establish a mechanism for PWC to notify these customers of changes to market circumstances; and ensure new customers likely to use 750 MWh or less of electricity a year after 1 April 2010 have access to grace period arrangements equivalent to existing customers of an equivalent class, including tariffs, terms and conditions. PWC Generation licence 3.17 On 20 May 2010, PWC lodged an application for a generation licence to replace its licence due to expire on 30 June 2010. 3.18 The Commission considered that there was insufficient time before the licence expired on 30 June to properly assess the licence application, and consult with PWC and stakeholders on the proposal. Accordingly, with PWCs agreement on 15 June 2010 the Commission extended the term of the existing licence for two months to 31 August 2010. 3.19 The Commission subsequently granted a new generation licence to PWC from 1 September 2010, on the same terms and conditions as the previous licence, with the exception that: the term of the licence is now for an indefinite period; a new requirement to establish a compliance program has been included; and