Territory Stories

The Council of Territory Co-operation Committee First Report February 2010



The Council of Territory Co-operation Committee First Report February 2010

Other title

Tabled paper 714


Tabled papers for 11th Assembly 2008 - 2012; Tabled papers; ParliamentNT




Tabled By Gerard Wood


Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

File type




Copyright owner

See publication



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

Council of Territory Co-operation 8 First Report Table 3 shows the new local government structure and their previous associated local governments.15 Table 3. New local government structure SHIRE Pre-reform councils Main communities Municipality of Darwin Darwin City Council Darwin Tiwi Islands Tiwi Islands Local Government Nguiu Municipality of Palmerston Palmerston City Council Palmerston Litchfield Municipality Litchfield Shire Council Darwins rural area Belyuen Belyuen Community Government Council Belyuen Coomalie Coomalie Community Government Council Batchelor Wagait Cox Peninsula Community Government Council Wagait Beach West Arnhem Maningrida Council Inc. Jabiru Town Council Kunbarllanjnja Community Government Council Minjilang Community Inc. Warruwi Community Inc. Maningrida Jabiru Gunbalanya Minjilang Warruwi East Arnhem Galiwinku Community Inc. Gapuwiyak Community Inc. Marngarr Community Government Council Milingimbi Community Inc. Ramingining Community Council Inc. Yirrkala Dhanbul Community Association Inc. Umbakumba Community Council Inc. Milyakburra Community Council Inc. Angurugu Community Government Council Galiwinku Gapuwiyak Gunyangara Milingimbi Ramingining Yirrkala Umbakumba Milyakburra Angurugu Victoria River - Daly Nauiyi Nambiyu Community Government Council Nganmarriyanga Community Inc. Peppimenarti Community Council Inc. Thamarrur Community Government Council Mataranka Community Government Council Daguragu Community Government Council Timber Creek Community Government Council Walangeri Ngumpinku Community Government Council Pine Creek Community Government Council Nauiyu Nganmarriyanga Peppimenarti Wadeye Mataranka Daguragu Timber Creek Yarralin Pine Creek Municipality of Katherine Katherine Town Council Katherine Roper Gulf Borroloola Community Government Council Jilkminggan Community Government Council Numbulwar Numburindi Community Government Council Nyirranggulung Mardulk Ngadberre Regional Council Yugul Mangi Community Government Council Borroloola Jilkminggan Numbulwar Barunga Ngukurr 15 Information for the table derived from DLGHS, Community Statistics, New Local Government Message from the Minister, undated, and Department of Housing, Local Government and Regional Services (DHLGRS), History-Local Government Reform, http://www.localgovernment.nt.gov.au/history, accessed 30 December 2009.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.