Territory Stories

The Council of Territory Co-operation Committee First Report February 2010



The Council of Territory Co-operation Committee First Report February 2010

Other title

Tabled paper 714


Tabled papers for 11th Assembly 2008 - 2012; Tabled papers; ParliamentNT




Tabled By Gerard Wood


Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

File type




Copyright owner

See publication



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

Council of Territory Co-operation 9 First Report SHIRE Pre-reform councils Main communities Barkly Tennant Creek Town Council Elliott District Community Government Council Aherrenge Association Inc. Ali Curung Council Inc. Alpurrurulam Community Government Council Urapuntja Council Aboriginal Corp. Tennant Creek Elliott Ampilatwatja Ali Curung Alpurrurulam Arlparra Municipality of Alice Springs Alice Springs Towns Council Alice Springs Central Desert Nyirripi Community Inc. Lajamanu Community Government Council Yuendumu Community Government Council Anmatjere Community Government Council Arltarlpilta Community Government Council Yuelamu Community Inc. Nyurripi Lajamanu Yuendumu Ti-Tree Atitjere Yuelamu MacDonnell Areyonga Community Inc. Ikuntji Community Council Inc. Imanpa Community Inc. Kaltukatjara Community Council Aboriginal Corp. Ntaria Council Inc. Papunya Community Council Inc. Walungurru Council Aboriginal Corp. Wallace Rockhole Community Government Council Amoonguna Community Inc. Aputula Housing Association Inc. Ltyentye Apurte Community Government Council Tapatjatjaka Community Government Council Watiyawanu Community Government Council Areyonga Haasts Bluff Imanpa Kaltukatjara Hermannsburg Papunya Kintore Wallace Rockhole Amoonguna Finke Santa Teresa Titjikala Mount Liebig The Local Government Act provides for the establishment of local boards to improve integration and involvement of local communities in the council matters for the local area and to allow local communities to participate in the development of council policies. The role of a local board includes involvement in the development of a community plan and the establishment of local service delivery priorities.16 The Act contains provisions to ensure that local government councils follow contemporary principles and practices of transparency and accountability. Councils are required to have a municipal or shire plan that must contain a strategic plan, a service delivery plan with performance indicators and a long term financial plan. These must be reported against annually and be publicly available.17 For the purposes of preparation of regional management plans, three regions of north, central and south, were created and councils within the regions can decide if they will be part of the plans. The regional management plans have two purposes. The first is to assist inter-council Co-operation on matters like cemeteries, waste management facilities and other agreed regional facilities. The second and main purpose of the plans is to identify core local government services needed to be delivered in each regional area.18 16 Northern Territory of Australia (NT), Local Government Act (LGA), 1 July 2009, Part 5.1. 17 NT, LGA, Part 3.2. 18 NT, LGA, Part 3.1.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.