Territory Stories

Minutes of Proceedings Day 4 - Tuesday 19 October 1999



Minutes of Proceedings Day 4 - Tuesday 19 October 1999

Other title

Parliamentary Record 19


Minutes of Proceedings for 8th Assembly 1997 - 2001; ParliamentNT; Parliamentary Record; 8th Assembly 1997 - 2001




Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory




Minutes of Proceedings

Publisher name

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory

Place of publication


File type



Attribution International 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)

Copyright owner

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS - Tuesday 19 October 1999 Mr Toyne Mr Hatton Dr Lim Mr Lugg Mr McCarthy Mr Manzie Mr Mills Mr Palmer Mr Poole Mr Reed Mr Stone Motion negatived accordingly. 9. FOUNDATIONS FOR OUR FUTURE - FOSTERING PARTNERSHIPS IN ABORIGINAL DEVELOPMENT - MINISTERIAL STATEMENT - STATEMENT NOTED: The Chief Minister (Mr Burke) made a statement relating to the fostering of partnerships in Aboriginal Development (Paper 1534). Paper tabled: Mr Burke laid on the Table the following Paper Foundations for Our Future of the Northern Territory - Foster Partnerships in Aboriginal Development by the Northern Territory Government (Paper 1535). Mr Burke moved - That the Assembly take note of the Statement. Debate ensued. Suspension of sitting: The sitting was suspended between 11:56 h and 14:00 h. Debate resumed. Papers tabled: The Minister for Resource Development (Mr Manzie) laid on the Table the following Papers Chapter 3 - The Community, Aboriginal Communities and the Land - CLP Policy Platform (Paper 1543); and Aboriginal Mining Enterprise Task Force, Annual Report 1998 (Paper 1549). Debate continued. Question - put and passed. 10. 25th ANNIVERSARY OF FIRST FULLY ELECTED LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY - STATEMENT BY SPEAKER: Distinguished visitors: The Speaker advised honourable Members of the presence on the floor of the Chamber of Members of the First Legislative Assembly as follows: Honourable Bern Kilgariff AM, OAM - former Member for Alice Springs; Mr Ian Tux worth - former Member for Barkly, Honourable Nick Dondas AM - former Member for Casuarina; Senator the Honourable Grant Tambling former Member for Fannie Bay, Honourable James Robertson - former Member for Gillen; Honourable Paul Everingham AO - former Member for Jingili; Honourable Roger Steele - former Member for Ludmilla; Mr Dave Pollock - former Member for Macdonnell; Mr Roger Ryan - former Member for Millner; Ms Dawn Lawrie - former Member for Nightcliff; Mr Milton Ballantyne - former Member for Nhulunbuy, Mr Marshall Perron - former Member for Stuart Park; Mr Hyacinth Tungatalum - former Member for Tiwi; and Honourable Goff Letts CBE former Member for Victoria River. 561

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.