Territory Stories

Minutes of Proceedings Day 4 - Tuesday 19 October 1999



Minutes of Proceedings Day 4 - Tuesday 19 October 1999

Other title

Parliamentary Record 19


Minutes of Proceedings for 8th Assembly 1997 - 2001; ParliamentNT; Parliamentary Record; 8th Assembly 1997 - 2001




Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory




Minutes of Proceedings

Publisher name

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory

Place of publication


File type



Attribution International 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)

Copyright owner

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS - Tuesday 19 October 1999_____________________________________ On behalf of all honourable Members the Speaker extended a warm welcome to those distinguished former Members and their guests. Mr Speaker extended a warm welcome to all of the guests for this evening's celebrations - former Administrator the Honourable Austin Asche and Dr Asche - former Members and staff of this Assembly and its predecessor the Legislative Council and the spouses and guests of current Members and staff and all other distinguished guests. The Speaker (Mr McCarthy) advised honourable Members that today marked the 25th Anniversary of the election of the First Legislative Assembly and that he had received messages of congratulations and best wishes from: The Prime Minister, the Honourable John Howard, MP (Paper 1546); The President of the Senate, Senator the Honourable Margaret Reid (Paper 1547); and The Minister for Regional Services, Territories and Local Government, Senator the Honourable Ian Macdonald (Paper 1548). The Speaker advised the Assembly that copies of these messages would be incorporated in Hansard and circulated to all honourable Members and guests. 11. 25th ANNIVERSARY OF ELECTION OF THE FIRST FULLY ELECTED LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY-MOTION AGREED TO: The Chief Minister (Mr Burke), by leave, moved - That this Assembly (a) notes that this day marks the 25th anniversary of the election of the First Legislative Assembly establishing fully representative parliamentary democracy in the Northern Territory, (b) records its appreciation for the work of all Members of the First Assembly - in particular for the role they played in: (i) the reconstruction of Darwin after Cyclone Tracy, (ii) the development of a constitutional framework for responsible Cabinet Government and Self-Government; and (iii) establishing a sound foundation for continuing constitutional development towards Statehood; (c) honours the memory of deceased Members of the First Assembly: Elizabeth Jean Andrew; Rupert James Kentish; John Leslie Stuart MacFarlane; Ronald John Withnall; and (d) records the clear determination that the next 25 years will be marked by an increased capacity for sustaining the historic responsibilities established by Members of the First Assembly (Paper 1545). Debate ensued. Question - put and passed. 12. ADJOURNMENT: The Leader of Government Business (Mr Palmer) moved - That the Assembly do now adjourn. Debate ensued. Question put and passed. And the Assembly adjourned at 17:50 h until 10:00 h on Wednesday 20 October 1999. 562

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.