Territory Stories

Minutes of Proceedings Day 3 - Thursday 18 February 1999



Minutes of Proceedings Day 3 - Thursday 18 February 1999

Other title

Parliamentary Record 14


Minutes of Proceedings for 8th Assembly 1997 - 2001; ParliamentNT; Parliamentary Record; 8th Assembly 1997 - 2001




Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory




Minutes of Proceedings

Publisher name

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory

Place of publication


File type



Attribution International 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)

Copyright owner

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS - Thursday 18 February 1999 The Bills were read a third time and passed to be proposed laws. 16. LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY MEMBERS SUPERANNUATION AMENDMENT BILL (No. 2) 1998 (Serial 137): The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question - That the Bill be now read a second time - Debate ensued. Question - put and passed. Bill read a second time. The Assembly resolved itself into Committee of the Whole for consideration of the Bill. In Committee (Chairman - Mr Mitchell) Bill, by leave, taken as a whole. The Chief Minister (Mr Burke) moved the following amendment - Insert after clause 3 the following: '4. Transitional The amendments to section 19 of the Legislative Assembly Members' Superannuation Act made by section 2 of this Act do not apply to a former member who ceased to be a member before the commencement of this Act.'. Bill, as amended, agreed to. Bill to be reported with amendments. The Assembly resumed. The Speaker resumed the Chair; the Chairman (Mr Mitchell) reported that the Committee had considered the Bill and agreed to the same with amendments. The Chief Minister (Mr Burke) moved - That be now read a third time. Debate ensued. Question - That the motion be agreed to - put. The Assembly divided (the Speaker, Hon. T. R. McCarthy, in the Chair) AYES, 16 NOES, Mr Adamson Mr Ah Kit Mr Balch Mr Bailey Mr Baldwin Ms Martin Mrs Braham Mr Rioli Mr Burke Mr Stirling Mr Coulter Mr Toyne Mr Dunham Mr Elferink Mr Hatton Mr Lugg Mr McCarthy Mr Manzie Mr Mitchell Mr Palmer Mr Poole Mr Reed And so it was resolved in the affirmative. Motion agreed to accordingly. Bill was read a third time and passed to be a proposed law. 417

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.