Territory Stories

Annual Report 2011/2012 Professional Standards Councils



Annual Report 2011/2012 Professional Standards Councils

Other title

Tabled paper 112


Tabled Papers for 12th Assembly 2012 - 2016; Tabled Papers; ParliamentNT






Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

Publisher name

Professional Standards Council

File type




Copyright owner

See publication



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

12 Professional Standards Councils Annual Report 2011-12 A u S tR A li A n C A P it A l te R R it o R y | n e w S o u th w A le S | n o R th e R n t e R R it o R y | Q u e e n S lA n d | S o u th A u S tR A li A | t A S m A n iA | V iC to R iA | w e S te R n A u S tR A li A Our VISION Our vision is to be recognised as thought leaders in and influencers of professional standards and consumer protection, with demonstrable competence in setting liability caps. As confidence grows in the positive impact of the legislation, we will be respected and trusted by all our stakeholders as we strive to broaden our relationships with current scheme holders and new occupational associations. Our MISSION The Professional Standards Councils mission is to promote consumer protection and excellence in professional standards by encouraging the self-regulation of occupational groups through Cover of Excellence schemes. Cover of Excellence schemes are for members of occupational associations, and: recognise those who implement robust risk management strategies such as complaints and discipline systems, codes of ethics and continuing occupational education limit occupational liability for members of occupational associations who carry professional indemnity insurance and/or business assets to the limitation of liability amount entitle members of the occupational association to enjoy the reputation of the Cover of Excellence trademark. PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS COUNCILS Council and secretariat members L-R: Naomi Degabriele, Rob Lawson, Monique Linssen, Julie Cameron, Robert Beaton, Terry Evans, Tiina-Liisa Sexton, Hugh Plaistowe, Esther Alter, Tom Karp, Brian Rayment QC, Iain Summers, Joanne Metcalfe and Philippa Seagrave Missing Council members: Ronald Farrell and Madeleine Ogilvie