Territory Stories

Annual Report 2011/2012 Professional Standards Councils



Annual Report 2011/2012 Professional Standards Councils

Other title

Tabled paper 112


Tabled Papers for 12th Assembly 2012 - 2016; Tabled Papers; ParliamentNT






Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

Publisher name

Professional Standards Council

File type




Copyright owner

See publication



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

22 Professional Standards Councils Annual Report 2011-12 A u S tR A li A n C A P it A l te R R it o R y | n e w S o u th w A le S | n o R th e R n t e R R it o R y | Q u e e n S lA n d | S o u th A u S tR A li A | t A S m A n iA | V iC to R iA | w e S te R n A u S tR A li A Robert beaton | LLb, bArch (hons), bSc (Arch) Robert Beaton has had more than 35 years experience in all facets of professional risks insurance. Until June 2010, he was the National Product & Underwriting Manager Professional Risks Insurance at CGU Insurance. Robert is currently a consultant on issues relating to professional risk insurance. He was Chairman of the Professional Indemnity standing committee of Insurance Council of Australia between 2003 and 2010 and a member of the APRA National Claims and Policies Database Steering Group Committee when it was created. Julie Cameron | bComm, LLb (hons), LLm Julie Cameron is a partner of Corrs Chambers Westgarth in Brisbane and practises in the areas of insurance, medical malpractice, public liability and commercial litigation. Julie also advises and represents clients in investigations by the Health Quality and Complaints Commission and professional registration boards. An accredited personal injuries specialist of the Queensland Law Society (QLS) since 2002, Julie is a member of the QLS Personal Injuries Specialist Accreditation Committee and the QLS Accident Compensation Committee. She is also the Chairperson (Brisbane) of the Medicare Participation Review Committee and she holds membership of the Australian Insurance Law Association and the MedicoLegal Society of Queensland. Terry Evans | LLm Terry Evans is engaged as Special Counsel with Minter Ellison Adelaide. Previously, he was the Deputy Chief Executive of the South Australian Justice Department and Attorney Generals Department (2004 to March 2006). He was the Chief Commercial Counsel for the Crown Solicitors Office from 1996 to 2004. Previously, Terry was a partner with Minter Ellison. He holds a number of board positions in the corporate, government, education and not-for-profit sectors. Ronald Farrell Ronald Farrell is currently a member of the Committee of Management of MAV Insurance, which includes Civic Mutual Plus, and is appointed as a responsible officer. In 2008, he retired after 14 years as a foundation non-executive director of the Victorian Managed Insurance Authority. Prior board appointments include the Metropolitan Fire and Emergency Services Board, Gro it Pty Ltd manufacturing company, Utilities Insurance Company Ltd, and connect.com.au Pty Ltd (internet provider). This followed a successful career in the insurance industry as General Manager of Australian Eagle Insurance Company Ltd and as an Executive Director of various subsidiaries. Memberships include the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance, as well as a not-forprofit advisory body. Robert Beaton Julie Cameron Terry Evans Ronald Farrell