Territory Stories

Annual Report 2013/2014 Northern Territory Planning Commission



Annual Report 2013/2014 Northern Territory Planning Commission

Other title

Tabled paper 1182


Tabled Papers for 12th Assembly 2012 - 2016; Tabled Papers; ParliamentNT






Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

File type




Copyright owner

See publication



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

PMS 401 PMS Cool Grey 11 PMS 173 Northern Territory Planning Commission | Annual Report 201314 6 Membership The Honourable Gary Nairn Chairman, Northern Territory Planning Commission B. Surv, Hon Fellow SSSI, GAICD After a 25 year career as a surveyor in Australia, UK & Europe, including 13 years as Managing Director of his Darwin based surveying and mapping consultancy, Gary Nairn was elected as the Federal Member for Eden-Monaro in 1996. He served in the Australian Parliament until 2007 which included being the Parliamentary Secretary to Prime Minister Howard from 2004 to 2006 and Special Minister of State from 2006 to 2007. His responsibilities in these roles included water reform, e-Government, Commonwealth properties, the Australian Electoral Commission and five Government Business Enterprises. Gary lived in the Northern Territory for 15 years and was involved in the planning, design and survey of major developments such as Palmerston, Cullen Bay, Katherine East and Bayview. Gary remains involved in the spatial industry through his consultancy work and is currently the national chairman of the Spatial Industries Business Association (SIBA) and also chairs the Tasmanian Spatial Information Council (TASSIC), an advisory council to the Tasmanian Government. Mr Peter McQueen Chairman, Development Consent Authority LLB Peter has been the Chairman of the Development Consent Authority since 2006. He first arrived in the Northern Territory in the 1970s. Peter has practised as a solicitor in Darwin since 1980, and has had his own practice since 1983, McQueens Solicitors. Peter has been involved in the administration of various community organisations including the Larrakeyah Primary School Council, Darwin Rugby League, Darwin Turf Club and the Darwin Festival. Dr Bill Freeland Chairman, Northern Territory Environment Protection Authority M. Sc, PhD Bill has spent 30 years of his career in the Northern Territory, which has given him an extensive understanding and appreciation of the issues relevant to regional areas and the indigenous community. During his career, Bill has published over 50 scientific papers and conducted consultancy work in the fields of conservation management, environmental impacts, waste management, ecologically sustainable development and tourism development. He has worked as an Environmental Consultant working with business and industry in environmental management in the Northern Territory. He has over 20 years experience in research and management roles with the Parks and Wildlife Commission of the Northern Territory, including working with the community and has held the positions of Director with the Parks and Wildlife Commission, and Director of Conservation Strategy with the Queensland Government. The Planning Commission has ten members that provide planning leadership, and deliver independent and professional advice. The Planning Commission facilitates linkages with the Northern Territory Environment Protection Authority, Development Consent Authority, Heritage Council and local government.