Territory Stories

Annual Report 2012/2013 Department of Local Government



Annual Report 2012/2013 Department of Local Government

Other title

Tabled paper 583


Tabled papers for 12th Assembly 2012 - 2016; Tabled papers; ParliamentNT






Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

File type




Copyright owner

See publication



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

Department of Local Government 19 LEGISLATION The Department of Local Government is responsible for the following legislation: ANIMAL WELFARE ACT This Act provides the scheme for animal welfare matters, including the Animal Welfare Authority and the licensing of premises to be used for teaching and scientifi c purposes. See page 16 for further information on changes to the Animal Welfare Act and Regulations that took eff ect during 201213. CEMETERIES ACT As part of a routine review of legislation managed by the department, in 201213 the department reviewed the Northern Territory Cemeteries Act and investigated issues including: burial in a place other than a cemetery burial records cremations multiple burials. A discussion paper requesting feedback from the local government sector, key stakeholders and the wider community was released in December 2012. At year end, submissions were being considered and further consultation was in planning. CROWN LANDS ACT (SECTION 79) The department is responsible for only section 79 of the Crown Lands Act, which deals with the appointment of trustees to reserves. DARWIN RATES ACT This Act allows for rating in the East Arm area. JABIRU TOWN DEVELOPMENT ACT This Act establishes the Jabiru Town Development Authority and sets out its powers and functions. LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT This Act provides for local government councils in the Northern Territory. The Northern Territory Electoral Commission is responsible for chapter eight of the Act, which deals with local government elections. The Local Government Act includes provisions in relation to councils, council members, council staff , fi nancial management, rates and charges, and regulatory powers. LOCAL GOVERNMENT GRANTS COMMISSION ACT The Local Government Grants Commission Act establishes the Northern Territory Grants Commission. See page 15 for further information on the grants commission. LOCAL GOVERNMENT (KATHERINE RATES) ACT This Act validated the rates levied in the municipality of Katherine in 1998 and 1999. NUDITY ACT The Nudity Act establishes the free beach in the Casuarina Coastal Reserve. PLACES OF PUBLIC ENTERTAINMENT ACT The Places of Public Entertainment Act was repealed on 29 May 2013. The Northern Territory legislation was derived from the South Australian Places of Public Entertainment Act, which was repealed by South Australia in 1995. The legislation concerned the regulation of businesses that provide public entertainment. The regulation of such places is now covered by other law, such as the Fire and Emergency Act, the Public and Environmental Health Act and the Building Code. POUNDS ACT The Pounds Act provides a power to establish pounds for wandering cattle and for the duties, responsibilities and obligations of pound keepers. STATUS OF DARWIN ACT AND STATUS OF PALMERSTON ACT These Acts provide that Darwin and Palmerston are cities.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.