Territory Stories

Annual Report 2016-2017 Department of the Legislative Assembly



Annual Report 2016-2017 Department of the Legislative Assembly

Other title

Tabled paper 405


Tabled Papers for 13th Assembly 2016 - 2020; Tabled Papers; ParliamentNT






Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

File type




Copyright owner

See publication



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

DLA Annual Report 2016-17 Page 9 Board of Management Primary responsibility for the Department of the Legislative Assembly (DLAs) strategic leadership and management rests with the Board of Management, which develops strategic direction to support the Departments priorities. The Board of Management is the departments most senior decision making body with responsibility for: Monitoring performance against objectives Maintaining financial accountability Ensuring people management and communication practices are effective, fair and equitable, and support corporate objectives. The Board of Management is chaired by the Clerk and meets monthly. All members are responsible for ensuring that their staff are briefed on decisions and relevant issues. The Department of Corporate and Information Services (DCIS) Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Manager provides monthly briefings to the Board of Management on priority issues. Members of the Board of Management are key management personnel for the purposes of financial reporting. MICHAEL TATHAM, Clerk and Chief Executive Mr Tatham holds a Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Laws, and Master of Laws from the University of Sydney as well as a Diploma in Legal Practice from the University of Technology, Sydney. He first joined the Department in 2005 and has been Clerk of the Legislative Assembly since July 2013. MARIANNE CONATY, Deputy Clerk Ms Conaty holds Bachelors of Arts and Bachelor of Laws, a Graduate Diploma in Legal Practice and an Executive Master of Public Administration. She joined the Legislative Assembly in 2013. RUSSELL KEITH, First Clerk Assistant (Committees and Education) Mr Keith holds an Executive Master of Public Administration, Bachelor of Legal Studies (Hons) and a Bachelor of Arts (Hons). He joined the Legislative Assembly in 2010. SEAN OCONNOR, Clerk Assistant Chamber and Serjeant at Arms Mr O'Connor holds a Master of Business Administration, a Master of Management, and a Bachelor of Business. He joined the Legislative Assembly in March 2017. DIEM TANG, Chief Financial Officer Mrs Tang holds a Bachelor of Business in Accounting and joined the Legislative Assembly in 2012. JACQUI FORREST, Director Business Services Ms Forrest holds and Associate Degree in Commerce and qualifications in Business and Contract Management. She has been with the Legislative Assembly since 2014. BILL FRYAR, Director Building and Property Management Mr Fryar holds a Master of Arts from Griffith University and joined the Legislative Assembly in 2013.