Territory Stories

The Northern Territory news Sat 29 Jul 2017



The Northern Territory news Sat 29 Jul 2017

Other title

NT news


The Northern Territory news; NewspaperNT




This publication contains may contain links to external sites. These external sites may no longer be active.




Community newspapers; Australian newspapers

Publisher name

News Corp Australia

Place of publication


File type



Copyright. Made available by the publisher under licence.

Copyright owner

News Corp Australia



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

V1 - NTNE01Z01MA SATURDAY JULY 29 2017 SPORT 67 METRIC MILE Compare the bookies and get the best odds all AFL season. ROUND 19 SATURDAY, JULY 29TH Greater Western Sydney Fremantle $1.16 Sportsbet $6.40 Ladbrokes Port Adelaide St Kilda $1.18 Luxbet $5.75 UBET Gold Coast Richmond $2.80 Crownbet $1.52 UniBet Carlton Geelong $4.25 UBET $1.28 Bet365 North Melbourne Melbourne $3.10 Unibet $1.43 TopBetta +18 Know when to stop. Dont go over the top. Gamble responsibly. Think! About your choices. Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelp.nsw.gov.au or www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. Odds.com.au compares bookermaker fixed odds from UBET, Ladbrokes, Sportsbet, William Hill, Luxbet, Unibet, PalmerBet, Bookermaker, bet365, CrownBet, Betstar, Centrebet and TopBetta. Disclaimer: Odds correct as of Friday July 28, 2017 publishing and subject to change SUNDAY, JULY 30TH Western Bulldogs Essendon $2.20 CrownBet $1.77 Ladbrokes Collingwood Adelaide $3.00 Luxbet $1.45 Sportsbet West Coast Brisbane $1.10 Sportsbet $8.50 Bookmaker SHE was seemingly on her way to winning the Top End jockeys premiership for the first time. After leading the race for a majority of the 2016/17 season, Felicia Bergstrand suffered an injury at the most inconvenient time. In late May, Bergstrand approached one of the new horses at the stable of Darwin trainer Kerry Petrick before suffering a nasty kick, breaking four ribs. Bergstrand didnt return to the saddle until June 17. At the time, she led the jockeys premiership with 28 winners from Raymond Vigar (21) and Brendon Davis (20). Davis, who had won the last three Top End premierships, was out of action for a number of months after breaking his hip in a trackwork fall at Fannie Bay last November. Ive come close to winning the Top End jockeys premiership in the past, so to win it for the first time will be a career highlight, Bergstrand said. The injury did come at a bad time. Suddenly, Davis found his mojo and now leads the premiership with 32 winners. Today is the last meeting of the 2016/17 season and Davis wont be on deck because of suspension. Davis, who is Bergstrands partner, copped a week after incurring a careless riding charge last weekend. Bergstrand, the leading apprentice in this part of the world for the past four years, sits on 29 winners and has one last opportunity to catch Davis. On todays eight-event program at Fannie Bay, Bergstrand has seven rides. Since her last win on June 24 when she piloted the Philip Cole-trained Wicked promise to victory, the Swedish-born rider has gone 38 rides without a win. During that period she has finished second on six occasions and third on four occasions, and has yet to ride a winner after four days of the Darwin Cup Carnival. Jockeying for ladder top spot DAVID WHITE Quest to win elusive mile get him to Darwin, Jones said. Hes used to running on the dirt, but when we got him we continued to race him in Canberra and in Country Cups. He got caught behind the leaders in a slow Bridge Toyota Cup and was left behind when they kicked, but hell up for the Metric Mile. One of Overdanes competitors is seven-year-old gelding War Story, trained by Alice Springs Carly Cook. War Story has had just one start in Darwin, finishing a dis appointing last behind Folk Tales, Spartan Eagle and Moon Devil over 1600m on July 8. The inconsistent galloper will have to show a dramatic reversal in form if he is to make an impact or an impression in the Metric Mile and Darwin Cup. Joseph, a highly successful trainer for the past 42 years, confirmed that it was also recommended Overdane be sent north as bloodlines indicated the family had tasted success on the dirt in the past. The Baroness of Bombala, who is currently holidaying at Lennox Head on the NSW north coast, wont be making the trip to Darwin this year. Ive been watching the Darwin Cup Carnival on television and Ill certainly be watching on Saturday, she said yesterday. One of our horses ran second at Canberra today, so hopefully the luck will rub off on Overdane. McJoey was the first horse I brought to Darwin and I may come up with other horses next year. The Cup Carnival is a wonderful time of year. Trainer Carly Cook with War Story, who is running in the Metric Mile over 1600m at Fannie Bay today as part of the Darwin Cup Carnival Picture: KATRINA BRIDGEFORD Harrebs timing run well for chance at Darwin Cup berth in the Halter stable, but Your Excellency is still the favourite. The eight-year-old veteran will line up in the $135,000 Palmerston Sprint on August 5. We put him up on a pedestal we call him Kingy and hes a real gentleman, Halter said. Your Excellency is still very sound for an old horse. If Harrebs Time does well in the next couple of weeks though, he might join him. be in it to try, she said. I dont buy horses for the Darwin Cup because of the lack of 2000m races up here. Hes done everything right over the mile and his winning run in the St Patricks Day Cup (1600m) was strong. Halter has been delighted with Harrebs Times consistency over the past 12 months. He owes us nothing, she said. Harrebs Time is much loved Year Horse Trainer 2000 Fra Omega N Byrne 2001 Dreamgazer G P Moody 2002 Garlandtown Moon K Petrick 2003 Old Swampy N Byrne 2004 Capo Del Opo G Kennewell 2005 Lanson D Bates 2006 Nozi P Trenwith 2007 Austpak G Clarke 2008 Lanson D Bates 2009 Palmyra Boy N Dyer 2010 Palymyra Boy N Dyer 2011 Hawks Bay N Dyer 2012 Sheahan S Brown 2013 Spartan Eagle B Richard 2014 Spartan Eagle B Richard 2015 Whistle Stop D Leech 2016 Our Valdivia L Whittle PasT Winners oF MeTriC MiLe 2016/17 Top End prEmiErships TrainErs 49 Gary Clarke 26 Kerry Petrick 17 Chris Pollard 13 Tayarn Halter 12 Jason Manning JockEys 32 Brendon Davis 29 Felicia Bergstrand 23 Raymond Vigar 17 Vanessa Arnott 16 Richie Oakford