Territory Stories

Minutes of Proceedings Day 1 - Tuesday 24 March 2015



Minutes of Proceedings Day 1 - Tuesday 24 March 2015

Other title

Parliamentary Record 18


Minutes of Proceedings for 12th Assembly 2012 - 2016; ParliamentNT; Parliamentary Record; 12th Assembly 2012 - 2016




Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory




Minutes of Proceedings

Publisher name

Hansard Office

Place of publication


File type



Attribution International 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)

Copyright owner

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS - Tuesday 24 March 2015 573 The Committees membership shall comprise the Member for Blain, the Member for Arafura, the Member for Nhulunbuy and the Member for Nelson. The Chair will be the Member for Blain. The Committee may elect a Deputy Chair of the Committee, who may act as the Chair when the Chair is absent from a meeting or there is no Chair of the Committee. A quorum of the Committee shall be two members of the Committee. The committee is to report by 17 September 2015. The provisions of this resolution, insofar as they are inconsistent with the Standing Orders, have effect notwithstanding anything contained in the Standing Orders. 2. Mr Tollner (Treasurer) will present on the next sitting day a bill entitled National Electricity (Northern Territory) (National Uniform Legislation) Bill 2015 (Serial 118). 3. Mr Wood (Member for Nelson) will move on the next General Business day - That the NT Government considers that on polling day in local Government and Territory elections. not to permit a person to canvass for votes, solicit the vote or induce or attempt to induce an elector not to vote for a particular candidate or particular candidates within 100 metres of a polling place and/or not permit the distribution of any advertisement, how to vote card, handbill, pamphlet, poster or notice containing any electoral matter on polling day. This would also include advertising or comment in a newspaper on that day. 10. PETITION Ms Purick (Member for Goyder), by leave, presented Petition No. 44 from 423 petitioners, not conforming with Standing Orders relating to the laws to protect innocent people and their properties (Paper 1268). Petition read. 11. LEAVE OF ABSENCE AGREED TO Mr Elferink (Member for Port Darwin) moved That a leave of absence for today, tomorrow and Thursday be granted to Mr Styles (Member for Sanderson) on account of illness. Motion agreed to. 12. SPEAKER'S STATEMENT The Deputy Speaker made a statement regarding the circulation of copies of Sessional Orders to Members. 13. QUESTIONS 14.05 Ms Lawrie to Chief Minister 14.09 Mr Kurrupuwu to Chief Minister 14.12 Mr Vowles to Chief Minister ________________ Visitor: The Speaker advised Honourable Members of the presence in the gallery of the Honourable Denis Burke, former Chief Minister of the Northern Territory. On behalf of all Members the Speaker extended a warm welcome to the visitor. _________________ 14.16 Mrs Finocchiaro to Chief Minister 14.19 Mr McCarthy to Chief Minister

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.