Territory Stories

Annual report



Annual report


Northern Territory. Legislative Assembly. Sessional Committee on Constitutional Development


Parliamentary reports; ParliamentNT




Period: 1 July 1991 to 30 June 1992; 1 July 1994 to 30 June 1995




Northern Territory. Legislative Assembly. Sessional Committee on Constitutional Development -- Periodicals.; Constitutional law -- Northern Territory -- Periodicals.

Publisher name

Northern Territory Government

Place of publication



1 volume ; 25 cm.

File type



Attribution International 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)

Copyright owner

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory



Parent handle


Citation address


Related items


Page content

(c) such other constitutional and legal matters as may be referred to it by: (i) relevant ministers, or (ii) resolution of the Assembly. (2) the Committee undertake a role in promoting the awareness of constitutional issues to the Northern Territory and Australian populations~ (3) unless otherwise ordered, the Committee consist of Mr Bailey, Mr Cartwright, Mr Hatton, Mr Lanhupuy, Mr McCarthy and Mr Setter: ( 4) the Chief Minister and the Leader of the Opposition, although not Members of the Committee, may attend all meetings of the Committee: may question witnesses; and may participate in the deliberations of the Committee, but shall not vote; (5) the Chairman of the Committee may, from time to time, appoint a Member of the Committee to be the Deputy Chairman of the Committee and that the Men1ber so appointed shall act as Chairman of the Committee at any time when there is no Chairman or when the Chairman is not present at a meeting of the Committee; (6) in the event of an equality of voting, the Chairman, or the Deputy Chairman when acting as Chairman, shall have a casting vote~ (7) the Committee have power to appoint subcommittees and to refer to any such subcommittee any matter which the Committee is empowered to examine: (8) four Members of the Committee constitute a quorum of the Committee and two members of a subcommittee constitute a quorum of the subcommittee: (9) the Committee or any subcommittee have power to send for persons, papers and records, to adjourn from place to place, to meet and transact business in public or private session and to sit during any adjournment of the Assembly: (10) the Committee shall be empowered to print from day to day such papers and evidence as may be ordered by it and, unless othenvise ordered by the Committee, a daily Hansard shall be published of such proceedings of the Committee as take place in public~ (11) the Committee have leave to report from time to time and any Member of the Committee have power to add a protest or dissent to any report: 22