Territory Stories

South Australia and Northern Territory sign new agreement



South Australia and Northern Territory sign new agreement


Giles, Adam

Political affiliation

Country Liberals


Media Releases for 12th Assembly 2012 - 2016; Media Releases; ParliamentNT




South Australia


Made available by via the Publications (Legal Deposit) Act 2004 (NT)




Infrastructure; Tourism; Conservation (Natural resources)

Publisher name

Northern Territory Government

File type



Issued as a Media Release

Copyright owner

Northern Territory Government

Parent handle


Citation address


Related items

https://hdl.handle.net/10070/524268; https://hdl.handle.net/10070/524266; https://hdl.handle.net/10070/524271

Page content

Page 4 of 4 2.4 Taskforces will be convened as necessary to consider specific issues and make recommendations to the First Ministers. 2.5 It is intended by First Ministers that those outside of government will be actively engaged in the collaborative effort. 2.6 State and Territory Ministers and their agencies remain responsible for the delivery and planning of State and Territory services. 2.7 Government Ministers and their agencies may refer matters to their respective First Ministers agencies where appropriate. 3. STATUS OF THE MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING 3.1 The South Australian and Northern Territory Governments acknowledge that the provisions of this MOU are not legally binding. Final policy decisions remain the responsibility of the respective governments. 4. TIMEFRAME, MODIFICATION AND TERMINATION 4.1 This Memorandum of Understanding is for a period of five (5) years, unless otherwise modified or terminated. 4.2 Any modification of this Memorandum must be in writing and signed by both parties. 4.3 A party may terminate this Memorandum at any time by giving the other party fourteen (14) days written notice. EXECUTED AS A MEMORANDUM on this day of 2015 -------------------------------------------- ---------------------------------------------- The Honourable Jay Weatherill MP Premier of South Australia for and on behalf of the State of South Australia The Honourable Adam Giles MLA Chief Minister of the Northern Territory for and on behalf of the Northern Territory of Australia