Territory Stories

In celebration of three Territory arts professionals



In celebration of three Territory arts professionals


Higgins, Gary

Political affiliation

Country Liberals


Media Releases for 12th Assembly 2012 - 2016; Media Releases; ParliamentNT




Made available by via the Publications (Legal Deposit) Act 2004 (NT)




Artists; Awards

Publisher name

Northern Territory Government

File type



Issued as a Media Release

Copyright owner

Northern Territory Government

Parent handle


Citation address


Related items

https://hdl.handle.net/10070/527574; https://hdl.handle.net/10070/527576; https://hdl.handle.net/10070/527577

Page content

The Australia Council Art Awards are the highest accolade the Australia Council can bestow and acknowledge the significant achievements and contribution an arts professional has made to the development and vibrancy of Australian arts. Mr. Stubbs began working with Yolu elders and artists in 1995. In 2001 he became coordinator of the art centre in Yirrkala. Since then it has doubled in size with a tenfold increase in annual turnover. The BukuLarngguay Centre has also developed the highly successful Mulka Project digital archive and studio. During Mr Stubbs management the Yirrkala artists have won 30 major art prizes and exhibited widely and internationally, including in the Musee du Quai Branly, France. More info: http://www.australiacouncil.gov.au/news/events/australia-council-awards 2015/awards/#rba Alyson Evans and the Kirk Robson Award The Kirk Robson Award recognises Alyson Evans as an outstanding young leader in community arts and cultural development. Now based in NSW, Ms Robson worked with Darwin Community Arts creating theatre projects across diverse Northern Territory communities involving remote Indigenous artists, youth, people with disabilities and mental illness, prisoners and former refugees. She is returning soon to the Northern Territory for the creative development of a childrens theatre interactive performance which will establish a model in community participation that can be adapted in communities both in Australia and internationally. More info: http://www.australiacouncil.gov.au/news/events/australia-council-awards-2015/awards winners/ Attached photos Louise Partos, Will Stubbs, Alyson Robson Media Contact: Lorelei Fong Lim, 0400 165 743 Alyson Evans Louise Partos Will Stubbs http://www.australiacouncil.gov.au/news/events/australia-council-awards-2015/awards/#rba http://www.australiacouncil.gov.au/news/events/australia-council-awards-2015/awards/#rba http://www.australiacouncil.gov.au/news/events/australia-council-awards-2015/awards-winners/ http://www.australiacouncil.gov.au/news/events/australia-council-awards-2015/awards-winners/ http://newsroom.nt.gov.au/download/6904 http://newsroom.nt.gov.au/download/6905 http://newsroom.nt.gov.au/download/6906