Territory Stories

Annual Report 2009 - 2010



Annual Report 2009 - 2010

Other title

East Arnhem Shire Council


East Arnhem shire council reports; Reports; PublicationNT




Made available via the Publications (Legal Deposit) Act 2004 (NT).






East Arnhem Region -- Politics and government -- Northern Territory -- Periodical

Publisher name

East Arnhem Shire Council

Place of publication


Copyright owner

Check within Publication or with content Publisher.

Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

6 East Arnhem Shire Council Annual Report 2009-10 CoUnCIl CommIttees FINANCE COMMITTEE The Finance Committee routinely meets bi-monthly, with special meetings convened as and when required. The make-up of the original Finance Committee comprised the Chief Executive Officer, Ian Bodill and the three Directors Ty Johnson (Technical Services), Dale Keehne (Community Services) and Kerry Whiting (Corporate Services). This committee meets on alternate months to the Council, to ensure the presentation of a monthly finance report and to monitor the on-going financial position of Council. Following the completion of the financial system remediation project (April 2010), Council reviewed both the role and composition of the Finance Committee. It was agreed by Council at the May 2010 Ordinary Meeting to extend the scope of the Finance Committee to cover the monthly financial reporting and Awarding Tenders during non-Council Meeting months. Council also appointed four elected members to the Finance Committee one representing each Ward of Council. These new members are Cr Don Wininba, Cr Keith Mamarika, Cr Banambi Wunungmurra and Cr Jack Gurralpa. The Finance Committee now comprises eight members (4 staff) and 4 (elected members). EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE As part of reviewing Council operations and continuous improvement in good governance practices, it was recommended to Council in November 2009 to consider forming an Executive Committee. Due to Councils Ordinary Meeting schedule being bi-monthly, there were often urgent issues that arose or decisions to be made where it was considered important to involve Council, but did not warrant the calling of a special meeting. The Executive Committee was created at the 11 November 2009 Ordinary Meeting and comprises the following Council members: President, Deputy President, Cr Jack Gurralpa, Cr Lionel Jaragba, and Cr Don Wininba. ANIMAL WELFARE AND CONTROL SUB-COMMITTEE At the March 2009 meeting of Council, a resolution was passed agreeing to establish the Animal Welfare and Control Sub-Committee. The committee is comprised of one Councillor per Ward the representatives are Cr Jack Gurralpa, Cr Don Wininba, Cr Lionel Jaragba, and Cr Barayuwa Mununggurr. The primary role of this committee is to assess the by-laws and policies of other councils and, in consultation with communities, to develop effective by-laws and policies for the Shire. CommUnItY AdVIsorY BoArds Analysis, of the projected establishment of nine Local Boards, identified a number of significant issues that would impact upon the validity and sustainability. Consequently, the Boards have continued to operate on an largely informal basis. There are two critical confounders of community consultation by committee 1. THE LEGITIMACY OF BOARD MEMBERS. The free election of members has been the major stumbling block of local government in remote areas since inception because - No-one can speak

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.