Territory Stories

Annual report 2010 - 2011, Northern Territory Grants Commission



Annual report 2010 - 2011, Northern Territory Grants Commission


Northern Territory Grants Commission reports; Reports; PublicationNT




Made available via the Publications (Legal Deposit) Act 2004 (NT).






Northern Territory Grants Commission -- Periodicals; Local government -- Northern Territory -- Periodicals; Local finance -- Northern Territory -- Periodicals; Grants-in-aid -- Northern Territory -- Periodicals; Revenue sharing -- Northern Territory -- Periodicals

Publisher name

Northern Territory Grants Commissions

Place of publication


Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

12 Annual Report MEMBERS PROFILES Bob Beadman Bob was appointed Secretary to the Northern Territory Department of Lands, Housing and Local Government and CEO to the Office of Aboriginal Development on 31 October 1994. He retired from these positions on 18 December 2001. From 1973, Bob was involved in Aboriginal affairs at senior levels in the Commonwealth Department of Aboriginal Affairs, and previously worked in the Top End and Central Australia on separate occasions. He acted at Deputy Secretary level on numerous occasions. Career highlights include working with Torres Strait Islanders at the Prime Ministers request on Australias International Border with Papua New Guinea, two extended periods as Senior Private Secretary to the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and representing Australia at the International Labour Organisation and the united Nations Working Group on Indigenous peoples. In the Territory, Bobs career highlights have included reform of the approach to local government, public housing policy and library grants distribution methodology. He was Chairman of the Swimming Pool Fencing Review Panel and the recently retired NT Coordinator General for Remote Services (May 2009 to May 2011). Bob was appointed Chairman of the Grants Commission on 1 November 2002. Trish Angus Trish joined the department in 1999. During the past 10 years, she has held a range of executive level positions and has provided stewardship for the department through a number of significant changes and reforms. Trish has been the Executive Director for Policy and Program Development since the departmental restructure. She previously held a number of executive positions in government and the community sector. Trish has tertiary qualifications in health and management, including a Masters Degree in Tropical Health. Damien Ryan Damien was born and educated in Alice Springs. He started work at the Alice Springs Camera Shop in 1972, and purchased the store in 1974. He also gained invaluable knowledge of the transport and tourism industries as licensee of the Mt Ebenezer Roadhouse and later as co-owner of Dunmarra Roadhouse. He is Chair of the Regional Development Australia NT Inc and Executive Member of the Central Australian Chamber of Commerce. As Vice President of the Finke Desert Race, Damien is a tireless worker for that event and is a life member of the committee. He was President of the Alice Springs Motor Cycle Club during the late 1970s and early 1980s, and was instrumental in promoting the toughest off-road motorcycle race in Australia, the Radio Alice 12-Hour Enduro, from 1978-1988, held on Mt Ebenezer Station. Damien was awarded the Photographic Imaging Council of Australia (PICA) Award as Photographic Dealer of the Year in 2000. In 2002 he achieved industry support for his proposal to raise more than $250,000 in three years by selling photo frames to fund research into the causes of dementia and Alzheimers disease, receiving the NT Achiever Award in 2005 for his efforts. He was named a Paul Harris Fellow by Rotary International in 2006 for his assistance towards the furtherance of better understanding and friendly relations among peoples of the world. Damien was elected Mayor of Alice Springs in March 2008 and is passionate about promoting Alice Springs as a tourist destination. He works tirelessly to make the Alice the best possible place it can be, both for those who live in Central Australia and those who visit. Steven Hennessy Steven was born in South Australia and spent his youth in the Riverland before moving to Adelaide. He had a career in event support management for Spotless Catering across south-east Australia from the early 1980s until 1995, when he was injured in a car accident. After being a regular visitor to the Territory since 1998, he became a permanent resident of Timber Creek, 300 kilometres south-west of katherine, in 2005. Steven became a councillor for the Victoria Daly Shire Council in October 2008. He is also a delegate of the Local Government Association of the Northern Territory, a member of the Timber Creek Fire and Emergency Response Group, and a member of the katherine West Health Boards non-Indigenous sub-committee. He is involved in restoration plans for the 1930s police house in Timber Creek, the last of its kind in the country. He is employed part-time by the Victoria Daly Shire Council, and has his own general maintenance small business. Lissa Herrmann Lissa Herrmann is a resident of the Darwin rural area and a long-time Territorian. She is a councillor on the Litchfield Council. Along with being the deputy representing municipal councils on the Northern Territory Grants Commission she is also a member of the Berry Springs Water Advisory Committee and an alternate member of the Development Consent Authority Litchfield Division. She has an administration, finance and compliance background predominantly in the real estate and construction industries and has worked in the civil construction industry for the past six years.