Territory Stories

Flinders NT Matters



Flinders NT Matters


Flinders University


Flinders NT Matters; E-Journals; PublicationNT






This publication contains may contain links to external sites. These external sites may no longer be active.; Made available via the Publications (Legal Deposit) Act 2004 (NT).




Northern Territory Clinical School; Medical education; Medical colleges; Northern Territory; Periodicals

Publisher name

Flinders University

Place of publication



vol 7 issue 1 Apr 2013

File type




Copyright owner

Flinders University



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

5 NT Medical Program Student Welcome Lila Loveard On Friday 15 February the former Northern Territory Minister of Health, Hon David Tollner, hosted a welcome function for Northern Territory Medical Program (NTMP) students at Parliament House, Darwin. NTMP students and staff, NT Department of Health staff and NTMP stakeholders and clinicians were welcomed by Minister Tollner, Flinders Vice-Chancellor Professor Michael Barber, Flinders Dean of School of Medicine Professor, Paul Worley and Associate Dean of Flinders NT, Professor Sarah Strasser. An addition to the AMANT award being presented to student Claire Kappel, Manager of the Indigenous Transition Pathways to Medicine Unit, Ms Karin Oldfield, also presented awards to first year students Claire Chandler, Anjali Bali and Sanmeet Duggal in recognition of their exceptional achievement in the NTMP first year orientation quiz. During his speech, Minister Tollner spoke highly of the NTMP and its achievements to date, acknowledging that NTMP graduates are home grown doctors trained for practising in the NT and meeting the health needs of the current and future population. The evening was enjoyed by all and we thank the Minister of Health for hosting this welcome for NT Medical Program students. Photos below, clockwise from topleft: Dr Kerrie Jones (second from right) with 2013 Year 1 NT Medical Program students from l-r Bernadette De Zylva, Debbie Gillon, Hayley Stratton and Sunny Duggal. Year 1 NT Medical Program students with Professor Michael Barber, Professor Paul Worley and former NT Minister of Health David Tollner L-R: JCU Yr 5 students Morgan Kennedy, Annabel Cavanagh, Megan Sim, Helen Truong, Emmy Nishimura (Y3 Flinders), Ellen West, Josephine Tchia l-r Rob Short-Burchell (Year 3 student), Professor Michael Barber, Michael Ryde (Year 2 student), Cedric Schaffer (Year 2 student), Kai Chaivannacoopt (Year 2 Student), Belema Dede (Year 3 student). 5 NT Medical Program News

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.