Territory Stories

Bioregions of the nt



Bioregions of the nt


Kerle, J. A.


E-Publications; E-Books; PublicationNT; 176




Made available via the Publications (Legal Deposit) Act 2004 (NT).







File type


Copyright owner

Check within Publication or with content Publisher.

Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

Technical Report LRD94100 Viewed at 07:02:32 on 18/02/2010 Page 93 of 275. 2.1 Introduction Initial interpretation of the geology of Gregory National Park was undertaken prior to fieldwork to determine: basic geological pattem. relationship of vegetation with the geology. to place studies already undertaken in the Park in a regional perspective. This section is retained in the final report for informations sake with particular regard to geology. For the purposes of the following section, Gregory National Park was divided into three main sections, which will be referred to as follows: Gregory section, the originally gazetted east portion of the park including the Victoria River gorge and country to the north and east. Bullita section which includes the westem portion of the park, around Bullita station and south towards Limbunya station. - Stokes section which occurs between the Gregory and Bullita sections, bounded in the north by the Victoria river and in the south by Jasper gorge and includes the Stokes range. This section has since been acquired by Wanimyn Aboriginal Land Trust, and is no longer included in the Park. Descriptions for the geology units of Gregory National Park were obtained from CSIRO 1: 250000 geological series for Delamere, VRD, Auvergne and Waterloo map sheets. Information listed under Land Systems was obtained from the CSIRO Land Research series No 28 'Lands of the Ord-Victoria Area, W.A. and N.T.' . Initial information on vegetation was taken from visual interpretation of 1: 250 000 scale false colour mss landsat images of the region. Vegetation communities occurring on each geological type are defined_ in section 4. Full vegetation descriptions are given in section 5. 2.2 Physiography The park contains two broad physiographic subdivisions, the Victoria River Plateaux and the Sturt Plateaux. The Victoria River Plateau is a partly dissected plateau underlain by sandstone, siltstone, and carbonate rocks of the Auvergne and Bullita geological groups. The plateau has been subdivided into smaller units. The Sturt Plateau occurs in one of these smaller units. A map of the broad physiographic divisions is contained at the end of this section (figure 1). Physiographic Subunits 2.2.1 Tablelands The tablelands are 150 to 250 metres high, and are generally bounded by steep scarps and capped by resistant sandstone (includes the Bynoe, Filzroy, and Stokes Ranges). The Victoria River and some tributaries are deeply incised into the tablelands, forming gorges with walls 150m high. The tablelands are mainly capped by massive Jasper Gorge Sandstone (Pail overlying the Stubb formation (Pat), which is exposed as side slopes and lower slopes of gorges, particularly along the' Victoria River. In the southeast, the tablelands are formed on less resistant interbedded sandstone and sillstone and have less precipitous scarp boundaries . 1

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.