Territory Stories

Parliamentary record : Part I debates (17 June 1986)



Parliamentary record : Part I debates (17 June 1986)


Debates for 4th Assembly 1983 - 1987; ParliamentNT; Parliamentary Record; 4th Assembly 1983 - 1987




Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory





Publisher name

Northern Territory Legislative Assembly

Place of publication


File type



Attribution International 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)

Copyright owner

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

DEBATES - Tuesday 17 June 1986 (II) legislative power; (III) executive powers; and (IV) judicial powers; (B) The framework of a new state constitution and the principles upon which it should be drawn; (C) The method to be adopted to have a draft new state constitution approved by or on behalf of the people of the Northern Territory of Australia; and (D) The steps required or desirable to be taken by the Northern Territory of Australia, the Commonwealth and the states for the grant of statehood to the Northern Territory of Australia as a new state within the federation. 2) Unless otherwise ordered, the committee consist of the Chief Minister, the leader of the Opposition, Mr lanhupuy, Mr Palmer, Mr Smith and Mr Tuxworth. 3) In the unavoidable absence of the Chief Minister, a member of the government nominated by the Chief Minister may attend any meeting of the committee and participate in its proceedings as a member of the committee. 4) The chairman of the committee may, from time to time, appoint a member of the committee to be the deputy chairman of the committee, and that the member so appointed shall act as chairman of the committee, at any time when there is no chairman or when the chairman is not present at a meeting of the committee. 5) In the event of an equality of voting, the chairman, or the deputy chairman when acting as chairman, shall have a casting vote. 6) The committee have power to appoint subcommittees and to refer to any such subcommittee any matter which the committee is empowered to examine. 7) Four members of the committee constitute a quorum of the committee and two members of a subcommittee constitute a quorum of the subcommittee. 8) The committee or any subcommittee have power to send for persons, papers and records, to adjourn from place to place, to meet and transact business in public or private session and to sit during any adjournment of the Assembly. 9) The committee shall be empowered to print from day to day such papers and evidence as may be ordered by it. Unless otherwise ordered by the committee, a daily Hansard shall be published of such proceedings of the committee as take place in public. 10) The committee have leave to report from time to time, and that any member have power to add a protest or dissent to any report. 13

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.