Territory Stories

The Tiwi Bomber



The Tiwi Bomber

Other title

Tiwi Bombers Football Club


Tiwi Bomber; E-Journals; PublicationNT




This publication contains may contain links to external sites. These external sites may no longer be active.; Made available via the Publications (Legal Deposit) Act 2004 (NT).


Special edition




Australian football teams -- Northern Territory -- Periodicals

Publisher name

Tiwi Bombers Football Club

Place of publication

Tiwi Islands

Copyright owner

Check within Publication or with content Publisher.

Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

The story so far The Tiwi Islands is situated about 80 km North of Darwin and home to 2500 Tiwi. The Tiwi have a long and proud history with Australian Rules football, highlighted by the magical skills of Maurice Rioli, Michael Long, Ronnie Burns, Dean Rioli , Tony Vigona, Adam Kerinauia and the great David Kantilla along with current AFL young guns, Cyril Rioli, Austin Wonaemerri and Anthony Long. In 2007, the Tiwi were invited to enter the Northern Territory Football League on a seven game trial. The Tiwi won all seven games and officially became the eighth NTFL club, the Tiwi Bombers, for the 2007/08 season, securing the double chance in that and the following season but failing to win a finals match. In season 2009/10 the Tiwi Bombers sit on top of the ladder and are well placed to have a major impact in this years finals series

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.