Territory Stories

The drum : the official publication of the Northern Territory Police, Fire and Emergency Services



The drum : the official publication of the Northern Territory Police, Fire and Emergency Services


Northern Territory Police, Fire and Emergency Services


The Drum; E-Journals; PublicationNT




This publication contains may contain links to external sites. These external sites may no longer be active.; Made available via the Publications (Legal Deposit) Act 2004 (NT).






Northern Territory Police, Fire And Emergency Services -- Periodicals; Police -- Northern Territory -- Periodicals

Publisher name

Northern Territory Government

Place of publication



Attribution International 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)

Copyright owner

Northern Territory Government



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

12 The Alice Springs-based Aboriginal Community Police Officer Donald St Clair has become the first recipient of the Northern Territory Administrators medal. ACPO St Clair was presented with his award by the NT Administrator John Anictomatis at the recent Police and Fire Service graduation parade. The award was introduced as a means of recognising the valuable contribution made to the community by individual ACPOs. ACPO St Clair, 35, began his employment with the Northern Territory Police Force in December 1997. He is attached to the Bush Patrols Unit in Alice Springs, and is also a member of the Road Safety Council and is involved in the Central Australian Football League. His work in Alice Springs has seen him actively involved in the Night Patrol and the Todd River Warden program. He is also well-known for his work in communicating with young people regarding substance abuse and general life skills. Commander, Southern Region, Gary Manison, said the award was recognition of ACPO St Clairs professionalism and commitment to the NT Police and the community. Being an ACPO is not an easy job for Don with the pressure placed on him by many in the Aboriginal community, Commander Manison said. He has used his strong family and community ties in Alice Springs as a strength and he has maintained a high level of professionalism while still maintaining close ties to the community. ACPO St Clair said he was ACPO First Class Don Sinclair is presented with the inaugural Administrators Medal by NT Administrator John Anictomatis at the recent Police and Fire Service Graduation ceremony in Darwin. honoured to be the first recipient of the Administrators medal and hoped it would highlight the work of all ACPOs in the NT Police force. It was an absolute privilege to receive the award, especially as there " ! # By Theresa Kuilboer are 47 ACPOs in the Territory and many of them do outstanding work, ACPO St Clair said. I just hope this award becomes an incentive and a goal for other ACPOs. A young man who is described as a role model for young people has been awarded the Territory Administrators Volunteer of the Year Award for 2003. Gordon Jackson, 26, has been a volunteer in the Fire and Emergency Response Group at Elliott for almost two years. For the last 12 months he has been Deputy Captain and according to Group Captain Ron Squires is the best deputy hes ever had. Gordon has consistently attended training sessions and unit meetings and has demonstrated a high level of professionalism and has gained the respect of the community. He has also been a team leader in the local AFL football club, the Elliott Hawks, for nine years, during which time as a star team member his role has influenced young boys to take up football and a healthier way of life. Gordon has also worked on the Elliott District Government Council as a plant operator and as a supervisor at the local gym and youth centre. He has also been a councillor on the Gurungu Council Aboriginal Corporation where he worked to support improvements to the facilities and infrastructure in his community. He is presently the president of the Gurungu Council. The youth of the town look up to Gordon as an exceptional role model. As such he is a most deserving winner of this years Administrators Medal for the Volunteer of the Year.