Territory Stories

Records Territory : Northern Territory Archives Service newsletter

Details:

Title

Records Territory : Northern Territory Archives Service newsletter

Collection

Records Territory; E-Journals; PublicationNT

Date

2002-03-01

Description

Made available via the Publications (Legal Deposit) Act 2004 (NT).; This publication contains may contain links to external sites. These external sites may no longer be active.

Notes

Date:2002-03

Language

English

Subject

Northern Territory Archives Service -- Periodicals; Archives -- Northern Territory -- Periodicals; Archives -- Management -- Periodicals

Publisher name

NT Archives Service

Place of publication

Darwin

Volume

no. 25

ISSN

1039-5180

Copyright owner

Check within Publication or with content Publisher.

Parent handle

https://hdl.handle.net/10070/213228

Citation address

https://hdl.handle.net/10070/715407

Page content

E C O R D S T E R R I T O R YR12 March 2002 RESEARCH IN PROGRESS: DEPARTMENT OF CORPORATE AND INFORMATION SERVICES WHOS WHO NT Archives Service: Street Address: 2nd Floor, 25 Cavenagh St Darwin NT 0800 Telephone: (08) 8924 7677 Postal Address: GPO Box 874, Darwin NT 0801 Fax: (08) 8924 7660 Website: http://www.nt.gov.au/nta Email: nt.archives@nt.gov.au Greg Coleman 8924 7677 Director greg.coleman@nt.gov.au Cheryl Phillips 8924 7677 Administration Offi cer cheryl.phillips@nt.gov.au Linda Bell 8924 7649 Archivist (Records Services) linda.bell@nt.gov.au Craig Lush 8924 7653 Archives Offi cer (Records Services) craig.lush@nt.gov.au Liam Phillips 8924 7654 Archives Retrieval Offi cer liam.phillips@nt.gov.au Cathy Flint 8924 7347 Archivist (Information Services) cathy.fl int@nt.gov.au Franoise Barr 8924 7652 Archivist (Information Access) francoise.barr@nt.gov.au Francis Good 8924 7651 Archivist (Oral Records) francis.good@nt.gov.au Hank Hofman 8924 7655 Audio Technician (Oral Records) hank.hofman@nt.gov.au Gillian Drewes 8924 7670 Administration Offi cer (Oral Records) gillian.drewes@nt.gov.au Margaret Quan 8924 7494 Records Retention & Standards Coordinator margaret.quan@nt.gov.au Beth Moloney 8924 7485 Records Policy & Training Coordinator beth.moloney@nt.gov.au Jeanette Collins 8924 7641 System Manager Jeanette.collins@nt.gov.au Celina Hodge 8924 7149 System Support Offi cer celina.hodge@nt.gov.au As usual, the range of research projects undertaken by researchers using the NT Archives collections is marvellously varied and the projects listed below are just a few examples of some that have been undertaken over the last few months. RMIT University, Masters Degree in Architecture by research: Development of Housing in Tropical Australia - David Bridgman Northern Territory University, Batchelor of Arts, History: Social activities and condition in Darwin 1946-1959 - Nina Cameron Research on the History of Darwin during the South Australian administration. Working title: Evolution of Darwin in South Australias Northern Territory, 1869-1911 - Kathy De La Rue. Paper for the Australian National University on insight into attitudes and values of missionaries at Arhnem Land settlements - Mickey Dewar, Curator Territory History Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory Research to provenance a document found at the Fannie Bay Goal and a research paper for the Museums Australia Conference in March 2002 - Mickey Dewar, Curator Territory History Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory Joint project with Suzanne Parry and Julie Wells on the Northern Territory in the 1950s with special focus on the social history and interaction in that period - Mickey Dewar, Curator Territory History Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory On behalf of Dr Pam Oliver from the School of Historical Studies at Monash University, and funded by the NT History Awards: a research project concerning the Japanese presence in the Northern Territory between the two world wars - Steven Farram, Northern Territory University. Research on the Aboriginal involvement in mining in the Hatches Creek area - Dr Nicholas Gill, School of Geosciences, University of Wollongong Research on the Myilly Point Precinct and the former Supreme Court building for the National Trust - Barbara James Research on sites and histories relating to women for the re-edition of No Mans Land later in the year - Barbara James The NTAS recently contributed to a oneday workshop coordinated by the NT Writers Centre entitled Researching and writing real life stories and presented by Barbara James. Cathy Flint, Archivist, Information Services, spoke about the processes involved in using archives generally, the difference between archives and libraries and the different types of archives available at the NTAS by providing a range of examples which proved to be of great interest to the participants as most of them had not used archives before. Cathy also discussed the NT History Grants Collaboration between the NTAS and the NT Writers Centre program which is administered by the NTAS. The purpose of this program is to encourage the work of researchers who are recording and/or writing about Northern Territory history. The level of interest in this one-day workshop was such that it will be held again in late March this year, and the NTAS will once again participate. Another successful collaboration between the NTAS and the NT Writers Centre was the Indigenous anthology Under the Mango Tree. For details please see Records Territory, No 23, February 2001.


Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.