Territory Stories

Woodgreen, Northern Territory : explanatory notes



Woodgreen, Northern Territory : explanatory notes

Issued by

Northern Territory Geological Survey


E-Publications; E-Books; PublicationNT; Australia 1:100 000 Geological Map Series




Australia 1:100 000 Geological Map Wood 5458; Australia 1:250 000 Geological MapAlcoota SF5310; Australia 1:250 000 Geological MapAlcoota SF5310

Map scale

1:100 000


Made available via the Publications (Legal Deposit) Act 2004 (NT); Available from GEMIS - Geoscience Exploration and Mining Information System




Geology; Georgina Basin; Arunta Region

Publisher name

Northern Territory Government; Northern Territory Government

Place of publication



1st ed.


Australia 1:100 000 Geological Map Series

File type







Attribution International 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)

Copyright owner

Northern Territory Government



Related links

https://geoscience.nt.gov.au/gemis/ntgsjspui/handle/1/81885 [GEMIS]

Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

4 suggesting that it may be restricted to a zone east of the main ranges in northern Woodgreen. The Oorabra Arkose is interpreted as a fluviatile unit, deposited during the waning phase of the glacial episode responsible for deposition of the Boko Formation, probably at about 600 Ma. Evidence for glacial influence is twofold: the local presence of faceted and striated cobbles in HUCKITTA and the widespread evidence of minimal chemical weathering, consistent with very cold conditions. Ediacaran Mopungagroup The term Mopunga Group has had a complex history of usage. As most recently redefined by Kruse in Dunster etal (2007), the group is an unconformitybounded package, comprising the GnallanaGea Arkose and Elyuah, Grant Bluff, Elkera, Central Mount Stuart and Andagera formations. Only the Elyuah, Grant Bluff and Central Mount Stuart formations are mapped in Woodgreen, although a correlative interval to the Elkera Formation can be recognised within the Central Mount Stuart Formation, based on drillcore data. Smith (1964) included the Mount Baldwin Formation (HUCKITTA) within the Mopunga Group, but this unit was subsequently removed by Walter (1980), based on the recognition of a local basal unconformity and the presence of Cambrian trace fossils. However, field comparisons between Neoproterozoic strata in HUCKITTA and Woodgreen suggest that some outcrops mapped as Mount Baldwin Formation (including all or most of the type section) are likely to be laterally equivalent to parts of the Central Mount Stuart Formation and thus, should be included in the Mopunga Group. Elyuah Formation (LPel) The Elyuah Formation was defined in HUCKITTA (Smith 1964, Walter 1980, Freeman 1986) and was previously recognised in the Woodgreen area by Walter (1980), based on drillcore information. The formation has been intersected in the subsurface in diamond drillholes CMS to 4. The thickest intersection of 94 m is in CMS2 (437.5531.4 m Figure15. Oorabra Arkose. Coarse massive arkose (behind hammer) overlain by sharpbased, channelised cobble conglomerate. Hammer (lower half of photo, just right of centre) for scale. 432780mE 7551039mN, 4 km SE of New Bore. Figure16. Crudely polished and coarsely ridged unconformity surface, interpreted as a possible glaciated surface, between Utopia Quartzite(?) and overlying Oorabra Arkose. 431655mE 7552292mN, 2.5 km ESE of New Bore.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain the names, voices and images of people who have died, as well as other culturally sensitive content. Please be aware that some collection items may use outdated phrases or words which reflect the attitude of the creator at the time, and are now considered offensive.

We use temporary cookies on this site to provide functionality.
By continuing to use this site without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies.