Territory Stories

Minutes of Proceedings for Meeting 25 on Wednesday 11 August 2021



Minutes of Proceedings for Meeting 25 on Wednesday 11 August 2021

Other title

Parliamentary Record


Minutes of Proceedings for 14th Assembly 2020 -; Parliamentary Record; ParliamentNT; 14th Assembly 2020 -




Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory




Minutes of Proceedings

Publisher name

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory

Place of publication


File type



Attribution International 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)

Copyright owner

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS: Wednesday 11 August 2021 On behalf of all Members the Speaker welcomed the visitors. 14. MOTION: INDEPENDENT COMMISSIONER AGAINST CORRUPTION REPORT FINDINGS NOT AGREED TO Mrs Finocchiaro (Leader of the Opposition), pursuant to notice, moved: That this Assembly condemns the Chief Minister for his involvement in the Darwin Turf Club grandstand grant and his ongoing failure to be open, transparent and accountable with Territorians about how he and his Cabinet gave away $12m without rigorous testing or validation. Further, that this Assembly: Condemns the Chief Minister for being part of a process that was "affected by political donations" (ICAC report p4) Condemns the Chief Minister for deliberately taking a submission to Cabinet that by-passed proper process. Condemns Cabinet Ministers for approving the grant that they knew was walked in "under the arm" of the Chief Minister and did not follow proper process. Condemns the Chief Minister and Cabinet Ministers for continuing to peddle misinformation that the $12m submission to Cabinet was a Market Led Proposal, when they know it clearly was not. Condemns the Chief Minister's indefensible position that his Chief of Staff was "following instructions" (ICAC p136) or that the Cabinet "did not have knowledge the proposal had been rigorously tested and validated." (ABC 26 June 2021)" Ms Fyles moved the question be put. The Assembly divided: Ayes 13 Noes 1 1 Mr Bowden Ms Boothby Mr Costa Mr Burgoyne Ms Fyles Mr Edgington Mr Gunner Mrs Finocchiaro Mr Kirby Mr Guyula Ms Lawler Mrs Hersey Mrs Manison Mrs Lambley Mr Monaghan Mr Maley Ms Moss Ms Purick Mr Paech Mr Sloan Mr Turner Mr Yan Ms Uibo Mrs Warden Motion agreed to. On the question that the motion be agreed to. Question put. The Assembly divided: Ayes 11 Noes 14 Ms Boothby Ms Ah Kit Mr Burgoyne Mr Bowden Mr Edgington Mr Costa Mrs Finocchiaro Ms Fyles MrGuyula Mr Gunner 146 ^