Territory Stories

Annual Report 2020-2021, Northern Territory Planning Commission



Annual Report 2020-2021, Northern Territory Planning Commission

Other title

Tabled Paper 388


Tabled Papers for 14th Assembly 2020 -; Tabled Papers; ParliamentNT






Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

Publisher name

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory

Place of publication


File type




Copyright owner

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

5 | NORTHERN TERRITORY PLANNING COMMISSION Our Members Dr Paul Vogel Ex officio member (appointed 14 November 2016) Dr Paul Vogel was appointed as the chairperson of the Northern Territory Environment Protection Authority (NT EPA) on 14 November 2016. Now a non-executive board chair/ director and strategic consultant, Paul was Chairman of Western Australias Environmental Protection Authority from 2007 2015. Paul was also the inaugural Chief Executive and Chairman of the South Australian EPA from 2002 2007 and prior to that held senior executive positions in the WA Departments of the Premier and Cabinet and Environmental Protection. Paul has a PhD in chemistry from the University of WA and has extensive knowledge and experience across a broad range of environmental issues and sustainability, in organisational and regulatory reform and in the delivery of strategic environmental and business outcomes. Paul is also chairman of a national Cooperative Research Centre on Contamination and Remediation of the Environment; chair of the WA Marine Science Institution, deputy Chair of the CRC on Transformation in Mining Economies; Special Counsel at Cannings Purple and a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. He was appointed to the NT EPA from 1 January 2016. Dr David Ritchie Chairman (appointed 13 July 2017) Dr David Ritchie has 38 years experience working in the NT for organisations responsible for land management, in professional expert and also senior management and executive roles. This work includes extensive experience with statutory boards with roles under land development, land rights, and environment and heritage legislation. For more than twenty years, David has held Chief Executive roles, leading organisations responsible for land resource planning, remote service delivery, parks & wildlife, natural resource management, environment protection, Aboriginal cultural heritage and museums, art galleries and archives. Throughout his career, David has had extensive involvement working closely with Aboriginal communities in remote regions of the NT. David also brings specific planning experience gained in the roles of Executive Director Lands, Chief Executive Department of Lands & Planning and Chief Executive of the NT Land Development Corporation. David is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of the Australian Anthropological Society. He is also a director of not-forprofit company Ninti One Limited, on the board of the Northern Territory Land Corporation and Chair of the NT Grants Commission.