Territory Stories

Annual Report 2020-2021, Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Advisory Council



Annual Report 2020-2021, Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Advisory Council

Other title

Tabled Paper 396


Tabled Papers for 14th Assembly 2020 -; Tabled Papers; ParliamentNT






Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

Publisher name

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory

Place of publication


File type




Copyright owner

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Advisory Council Annual Report 2020-2021 4 On 8 April 2021, the Minister appointed the following WRCAC members for a term which expires on 18 March 2023. Mr William Esteves NT WorkSafe - Work Health Authority Mr Esteves was appointed as the Work Health Authority on 18 June 2020. Mr Esteves is also the Executive Director of NT WorkSafe, the Electricity Safety Regulator, the Chief Inspector under the Radioactive Ores and Concentrates (Packaging and Transport) Act 1980, the Northern Territory member of Safe Work Australia, and the Heads of Workplace Safety Authorities. Ms Cathy Spurr, Halfpennys Lawyers Chair Ms Spurr has been a member of WRCAC since 2009 and is the current WRCAC Chair. Ms Spurr is a partner at Halfpennys Lawyers and works predominantly on cases related to workplace injury, personal injury and medical negligence. Ms Spurr acts on behalf of workers and unions and plays a key role in representing the interests of injured workers. Ms Spurr has extensive experience dealing with complex workers compensation matters. Ms Peggy Cheong, Hunt & Hunt Deputy Chair Ms Cheong is the Director of Hunt & Hunt Lawyers and has practiced in the Northern Territory for over 20 years. Ms Cheong has an interest in the ongoing development and evolution of work health and safety, workers compensation and rehabilitation. Ms Cheong is the current Chair of the Ethics Committee of the Law Society of the Northern Territory. Mr George Roussos, Roussos Legal Advisory Member Mr Roussos is a partner of Roussos Legal Advisory and a strong advocate of the Northern Territory workers rehabilitation and compensation system. He is a current member of the Scheme Monitoring Committee; a past president of the NT Chamber of Commerce and Industry; former Chair of WRCAC and was one of the consultants engaged to undertake a review of the (now repealed) Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Act. Mr Colin Chilcott, Insurance Council of Australia Member Mr Chilcott is the Regional Underwriting Manager, Workers Compensation for QBE Insurance and the nominee of the Insurance Council of Australia. Mr Chilcott has been a member of WRCAC since 2010 and was Deputy Chair from 2015 to 2017. Mr Chilcott has extensive experience with the Northern Territory workers compensation scheme. Mr Brett Hagan, Chamber of Commerce - Member Mr Hagan was nominated by the Chamber of Commerce NT to represent employer interests on WRCAC. Mr Hagan has been involved with the Chamber of Commerce NT since the mid 1980s and has held a position on their board since 2012. Mr Hagan has worked in the