Territory Stories

Annual Report 2021–2022, Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory



Annual Report 2021–2022, Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory

Other title

Tabled Paper 809


Tabled Papers for 14th Assembly 2020 -; Tabled Papers; ParliamentNT




Made available by the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory under Standing Order 240. Where copyright subsists with a third party it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.




Tabled papers

Publisher name

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory

Place of publication


File type




Copyright owner

Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory



Parent handle


Citation address


Page content

76 for institutional policy, strategy and advice in relation to all aspects of Indigenous higher education. As Director of Indigenous Studies, he provides academic leadership to the Program through undergraduate teaching, Higher Degree Research supervisions and research activity in support of this growing field of studies. Professor Judd has held the position of Director of Indigenous Studies since 2020 and was appointed Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous) in 2022. In this role he was charged with progressing the Indigenous development agenda in concert with the Strategic Plan of the University. Professor Judd is a member of the Australian Institute for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS). He was a foundation Chief Investigator of National Indigenous Research and Knowledges Network (NIRAKN) and a foundation editor of ab-Original: Journal of Indigenous Studies and First Nations and First Peoples' Cultures. Professor Judd holds an MA in Public Policy and a PhD in Australian Indigenous Studies and holds postgraduate qualifications in higher education teaching and learning. His area of research expertise relates to race relations in Australian sports and interdisciplinary research Allan Garraway is a chartered accountant, property owner and local businessman. He graduated with a commerce degree from Melbourne University, has been a Northern Territory resident for more than 50 years and has been awarded a Companion of Charles Darwin University. He has served as President of the Property Council of Australia (NT Division), Chairman of the Charles Darwin University Foundation and Chairman of the Institute of Chartered Accountants NT Group, and was a long-serving member of the Heritage Council of the Northern Territory. Mr Garraway has diverse business and property experience ranging from produce and pearling to coastal land and CBD property. His own interests, select clients, and organisations that he represents require him to be actively engaged with the Northern Territory Government over a broad range of issues, particularly the development and recognition of Darwin as The Capital City of northern Australia. Professor Barry Judd is Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous) and Director of the Indigenous Studies Program in the School of Culture and Communication at the University of Melbourne. In his role as PVC, Professor Judd has responsibility methods in Indigenous Studies and Australian history. He has worked in the support of Indigenous activity in Australian higher education for over 30 years in both professional staff and academic roles. Professor Judd is widely published and holds several current Australian Research Council research grants. The Hon Dr Tricia Kavanagh was the first law honours graduate of UTS Law School and practised as a barrister from 1981 to 1998 in all the superior courts in the common law jurisdictions, with a speciality in employment law. In 1998 having undertaken a doctorate in law, she was appointed as a Justice of the Industrial Court of NSW from 1998 to 2012. Tricia presided at first instance and on appeal on all industrial matters, awards and disputes, holding statutory power to both arbitrate and conciliate/mediate. She was the presiding Member of the New South Wales Medical Tribunal and the New South Wales Racing Tribunal. Tricia has served as an arbitrator on the Court of Arbitration for Sport since its foundation in 1993. She was the Australian nominee on the Court for the Sydney, Beijing, Rio and Tokyo Olympics.